Masters (60+) Men’s Ch’ship starts this morning in O’Leary

The PEI Masters Curling Championships, with Men’s and Women’s divisions for curlers age 60 and over, take place from Jan. 27-30 at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary. Defending champs are the Sandy Hope women’s rink from the Cornwall Curling Club and the Ted MacFadyen team from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Community Complex in Summerside. There was only one women’s entry, so there will be no women’s playdown, and the Sandy Hope rink will repeat as women’s champions. The MacFadyen rink is back this year as one of the seven men’s rinks entered.

Winning and runner-up teams advance to the Maritime Masters, March 16-18 at the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Community Complex in Summerside.

The winning Men’s and Women’s teams also earn the right to compete in the Canadian Masters, April 3-9  in Guelph, Ontario.

Event website:

Link to end by end live scoring:!/competitions/2190

Men’s Schedule

Date Time Draw # Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Jan. 27 10am 1 1 2 3  
2pm 2   5 6 4
Jan. 28 9:30am 3   8 7 9
1:30pm 4 10 11   12
5:30pm 5 14 15 13  
Jan. 29 10am 6   16   17
2pm 7     18  
Jan. 30 10am 8   MA    
2pm 9     MB  


Explanation for MA/MB:
1. One team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. One team wins two qualifiers. They play in both X and Z (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in Y (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in Z and the other winners play off in X and Y. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to Z and the other two teams play off in X and Y.

*Qualifying games are in yellow on the schedule

Men’s Draw Tree

Draw tree will NOT be updated during event – refer to Live Scoring for updated draw tree.


Men’s Team Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Club
Paul Arsenault Ron Giggey Roddie MacLean Edgar Coffin Cornwall Curling Club
Dale Cannon (throws 1st) Blair Jay (throws 4th) Des Arsenault (throws 3rd) Cliff Poirier (throws 2nd) Silver Fox Curling & Yacht
Bill Hope Craig Mackie David Murphy Bill Doherty Charlottetown, Cornwall
Ted MacFadyen Lou Nowlan Earle Proude Alan Montgomery Silver Fox Curling & Yacht
Clair Sweet Bob Matheson Muncey Harris Wayne Arsenault Maple Leaf Curling Club
Louis Walsh Doug Waugh Jim Evans Bob MacFarlane Silver Fox Curling & Yacht
Dario Zannier Stuart Graves Wayne Walsh Bill Chester Crapaud, Silver Fox


Women’s Team Roster

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coach  Club
Sandy Hope Shelley Ebbett Debbie Rhodenhizer Arleen Harris Bill Hope Cornwall Curling Club

Comments are closed.