Ch’town Curling Complex hosting PEI Credit Unions Seniors (50+) Ch’ships, beginning Friday

The PEI Credit Unions Provincial Seniors Curling Championships, with men’s and women’s divisions for curlers 50 years of age and over, take place Friday February 10 to Monday February 13 at the Charlottetown Curling Complex. Four men’s and four women’s rinks have signed up.

Live results will be available at:!/competitions/2278

Event website:

Defending champions are the Rod MacDonald and Kim Dolan rinks from this year’s host curling facility. MacDonald, and Mark O’Rourke from his team last year, are back as members of the Robert Campbell rink, while Kevin Champion and Mark Butler from last year’s winning team are on a rink skipped by Phil Gorveatt, who skipped last year’s runner-up rink. The Dolan rink is not entered this year.

Teams will play a modified triple knockout format, where the section winners advance to a two-game championship round. Section winners drop down to compete in subsequent sections. If a team wins all three sections, they are declared champions on Sunday morning, without the championship round. A team that wins two sections will play the other section winner in the championship round, and will win the championship if they win either championship game, while their opponent would have to win both.

This year’s winners will advance to the 2017 Everest Canadian Seniors Curling Championships, March 18-26 in Fredericton NB. The competition will be played at two facilities: the Capital Winter Club and on arena ice at the Willie O’Ree Place, with the men’s and women’s finals both scheduled for the latter.


Women’s games  Men’s Games

Date Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4 Ice 5
2pm 1  A B 1 2  
6pm 2   3  C    
10am 3  4 E 5 D  
2pm 4      F 6  
6pm 5 G 8  7  
10am 6   I   9  
2pm 7   P1   PA  
10am 8   PB   P2  


Explanation for P1/A and P2/B:
1. One team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. One team wins two qualifiers. They play in both X and Z (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in Y (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in Z and the other winners play off in X and Y. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to Z and the other two teams play off in X and Y.

*Qualifying games have letter or digit highlighted in yellow on the schedule

Draw Tree

(will not be updated during event – check live scoring for draw progression)
Senior Men’s Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coach Club
Robert Campbell John Likely Mark O’Rourke Rod MacDonald   Charlottetown/Silver Fox
Philip Gorveatt Kevin Champion Mike Dillon Mark Butler   Charlottetown Curling Complex
Bill Hope Craig Mackie David Murphy Bill Doherty   Charlottetown/Cornwall
Blair Jay Barry Cameron Gordon MacFadyen Alan Montgomery Leo Stewart Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Comm. Complex


Senior Women’s Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coach  Club(s)
Shirley Berry Janice Murdoch Rebecca Rolfe Hanny MacLeod   Cornwall Curling Club
Shelley Ebbett Kim Pippy Karen Hardy Sandy Hope Bill Hope Charlottetown, Cornwall
Iva Griffin Karen Gallant Judy MacIsaac Joyce Matthews   Western Community, Maple Leaf
Debbie Rhodenhizer Nancy MacFadyen Cindy Nicholson Sandra Sobey   Cornwall Curling Club

Click for last year’s event

Click for previous provincial seniors websites and winners.

Comments are closed.