PEI Mixed Curling Ch’ship starts today in Cornwall

Cornwall to host 2017 PEI Mixed (Fours) 

The Cornwall Curling Club is hosting the 2017 PEI Mixed curling championship from March 3-6, with nine teams competing in the original four player Mixed event. Defending champions are the team of Veronica Smith, Tyler Smith, Sabrina Smith, and Dylan Lowery. The Smith sisters are back this year on a team with Sam Ramsay and Connor MacPhee, while Tyler Smith (no relation) is on a team skipped by Jamie Newson.

Teams will play a modified triple knockout format, advancing section winners to a two game championship round on Monday March 6. With the modified format, section winners also compete in subsequent sections, and could win more than one. If a team wins three sections, they will be declared the winner after the third section final on Sunday evening. If a team wins two sections, they will have a “double-life” in the championship round and win the event if they take either game, while their opponent, who won one section, would have to win both matches.

The winning team will advance to the 2018 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship, to be played in Manitoba, at the Swan River Curling Club, Nov. 12-18, 2017.

Click for Live Results

Event website:


Date Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
2 pm 1 1 2 3 4
6 pm 2     6 5
10 am 3 7 10 8 9
2 pm 4 12 11 14 13
6 pm 5 16 18 17 15
10 am 6 21 19   20
2 pm 7 22   23  
6 pm 8   24    
2 pm 9     P1  
6 pm 10   P2    

Explanation for P1/A and P2/B:
1. One team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.
2. One team wins two qualifiers. They play in both X and Z (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in Y (and has to win both games).
3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in Z and the other winners play off in X and Y. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to Z and the other two teams play off in X and Y.

*Qualifying games are in yellow on the schedule

Modified Triple Knockout Draw with 2 game Ch’ship round (if needed)

(Draw tree not updated during event. Refer to live scoring for game progression)


Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coach  Club(s)
Kyle Holland Jane DiCarlo Christopher Gallant Whitney Young   Charlottetown Curling Complex
Bill Hope Sandy Hope David Murphy Shelley Ebbett   Cornwall, Charlottetown
Tyler MacKenzie Aleya Quilty Doug MacGregor Jodi Murphy   Charlottetown Curling Complex
Corey Miller Kaleigh Peters Pat Ramsay Elaina Arsenault   Silver Fox, Charlottetown
Jamie Newson Melissa Morrow Tyler Smith Miranda Ellis   Charlottetown, Silver Fox
Matthew MacDonald Gail Greene Paul Morrison Katelyn Greene   Montague Curling Club
Veronica Smith Sam Ramsay Sabrina Smith Connor MacPhee Paul Smith Charlottetown Curling Complex
Calvin Smith Breanne Burgoyne Nick Blanchard Taya-Ray Crossman   Silver Fox and Cornwall
Dennis Watts Jackie Reid Erik Brodersen Alison Griffin   Charlottetown, Western

Click for previous years’ Mixed websites and winners

Comments are closed.