Hope rinks win Maritime Masters

The Charlottetown and Cornwall rink skipped by Bill Hope, and the Cornwall Curling Club team skipped by Bill’s wife Sandy, have won the Maritime Masters Curling Championships, which wrapped up this weekend at the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Community Complex in Summerside. Bill Hope went 4-0 to win the men’s round robin and the men’s title.

Photo (L-R): Bill Doherty (lead), David Murphy (2nd), Bill Hope (skip), Craig Mackie (3rd), Carl Delaney (event chairman Carl Delaney)

The men’ runner-up rink was the host club team of Lou Nowlan, Blair Jay, Earle Proude, and  Alan Montgomery.

Photo (L-R): Montgomery, Proude, Jay, Nowlan, Event Chair Carl Delaney

The winning women’s rink included skip Sandy Hope, third Shelley Ebbett, second Debbie Rhodenhizer, and lead Arleen Harris. Hope and Ebbett missed the last two games as they had to travel to Fredericton NB to join the PEI women’s team at the Canadian Seniors. They were replaced by Nancy MacFadyen and Cindy Nicholson

Winning Sandy Hope rink photo. From right to left: Carl Delaney Event Chairman; Debbie Rhodenhizer Second; Arleen Harris Lead;
Nancy MacFadyen Skip (spare) and Cindy Nicholson Third (spare).
Missing from photo: Skip Sandy Hope and Third Shelley Ebbett

The women’s Runner-up team was the Monique Taylor team from Curl Moncton and the Sackville NB Curling Clubs, which included skip Monique Taylor, third Anna Action, second Bonnie Hamilton and lead Gloria Turner. Team NB W1 and NS w1 were tied 3-1 going into the last game, coming home with the hammer and two down, Taylor threw a triple take out and counted three to win the game. 

From right to left Carl Delaney Event Chairman; Bonnie Hamilton Second;
Monique Taylor Skip; Anna Action Third and Gloria Turner Lead

Masters teams are age 60+. The winning teams will be representing PEI at the Canadian Masters in Guelph Ontario April 3-9 2017

Comments are closed.