Nova Scotia rinks winner/runner-up at Canadian Stick Ch’ship

The 2017 Canadian Stick Curling Championship was held last week in New Glasgow NS. There were 44 teams from 6 provinces competing in the triple knockout event with 8 of them being from PEI. Gordon MacDonald and Floyd Stewart from the Montague had the best result among the PEI teams, with a 6-3 record — coming within one win of qualifying for the playoffs. Floyd was just back on the ice for a few days prior to the event after having a knee replacement last fall.
Other competing PEI teams and their records were: Walter Callaghan and Roger Gavin (Alberton) 5-3, Sterling Stratton and Barry Craswell (Cornwall) 5-3, Gloria Clarke and Ruth Stavert (Cornwall) 4-3, Roddie MacLean and John Dunsford (Cornwall) 3-3, Vince Fisher and Ernie Stavert (Cornwall) 3-3, Myrna Craswell and Elaine Hughes (Cornwall) 2-3, Bazil and Sterling Higginbotham (Montague) 2-3. The event was won by Jim Russell and Milt Larson from Halifax when they defeated Dave MacDougal and Paul Doucet from Yarmouth in an all NS final. There was no women’s division in the event this year. Clarke/ Stavert finished with the best record of all the women’s teams competing.
The 2018 Championship will be held in St. Albert Alberta during the first week of April. There is a strong possibility that the 2019 event will be held in PEI.

Comments are closed.