Ted MacFadyen rink repeats as PEI Masters Men’s Champs

The Ted MacFadyen rink from the Silver Fox in Summerside are the repeat PEI Masters Men’s Champions, winning two games today over Cornwall’s Bill Hope rink by scores of 8-3 and 8-0. Hope had won two Modified Triple Knockout sections to MacFadyen’s one, meaning that a win in either game today would have  given him the title, but he gave up a triple in the fourth end of the first game to trail 5-1 going into the second half, and couldn’t get on the scoreboard at all in game two, calling it quits after just five ends, following a MacFadyen triple, single steal, and stolen triple in ends three through five. 

Photo: Winning Ted MacFadyen rink (L-R): Alan Montgomery, Earle Proude, Lou Nowlan, Ted MacFadyen

Photo: Finalist Bill Hope rink (L-R):- Peter Murdoch, David Murphy, Craig Mackie, Bill Hope

The winning MacFadyen rink includes  Lou Nowlan, who already has his name on the trophy a record 12 times, throwing fourth stones, with MacFadyen throwing third and calling the game, along with second Earle Proude and lead Alan Montgomery.  Rounding out the Hope foursome were third Craig Mackie, second stone David Murphy, and lead Peter Murdoch.

Both teams have earned the right to advance to the Maritime Masters Curling Championships, at the Bluenose Curling Club in New Glasgow Nova Scotia, March 16-18 2018.  The winning  MacFadyen team, or the Hope rink should they choose not to attend, also earn the right to compete in the 2018 Canadian Masters Curling Championships in BC, April 1-8 at Surrey’s Cloverdale Curling Club and White Rock’s Peace Arch Curling Club.

The two-team women’s Masters Championship was decided earlier on Monday with the Sandy Hope rink repeating as champions, taking the Best of Five competition three games to one over their Cornwall clubmates the Shirley Berry team. (Click for story)


Comments are closed.