Alberta Men, BC Women win Canadian Masters Curling Championship

The Gold and Bronze medal games brought the 2018 Coastland Engineering and Surveying Canadian Masters Curling Championship at the Cloverdale Curling Club and Peace Arch Curling Centre to a close today in Surrey/White Rock BC.

Closing ceremony – photo courtesy Craig Mackie

BC’s team of skip Pat Sanders, third Lorraine Gagnon, second Sherry Findlay and lead Roselyn Craig beat the defending champion Saskatchewan team of skip Delores Syrota, third Beverly Krasowski, second Donna Liebrecht and lead Sylvia Broad by an 8-4 score to win Women’s gold.

Nova Scotia’s Colleen Pinkney rink beat Ontario 6-4 in the women’s bronze medal game.

In the men’s Gold medal game, Alberta’s team of skip Mickey Pendergast, third Rob Armitage, second Randy Ponich and lead Rick Hjertaas beat BC’s men’s team of skip Craig Lepine, third Neil Houston, second Craig McLeod and lead Kevin Jeannotte by an 8-2 score.  

Rob Koffski’s BC-Host team, with third Pat Ryan, second Randy Nelson and lead Glen Brennan, beat Manitoba 3-1 in the low-scoring men’s bronze medal game.

Team PEI women, skipped by Sandy Hope, made the championship pool in the event, finishing play with a 5-4 win-loss record overall, while the PEI men, skipped by Bill Hope, had a combined two wins and seven losses in the round robin and seeding pool. The event’s awards banquet was held on Saturday evening, with Team PEI’s Craig Mackie winning the men’s sportsmanship award and Ellen Johnson from the Yukon receiving the women’s.

Event website:

Photos from the event can be found here:

With info from Curl BC.

Comments are closed.