PEI’s Craig Mackie wins Sportsmanship award, gold and bronze medal games go today at Canadian Masters in BC (Curl BC)

Semifinal play wrapped up Saturday afternoon, with the gold and bronze medal games going today at the 2018 Coastland Engineering and Surveying Canadian Masters Curling Championship, for curlers age 60 and over, at the Cloverdale Curling Club and the Peace Arch Curling Centre in Surrey/White Rock BC. Team PEI women, skipped by Sandy Hope, made the championship pool in the event, finishing play with a 5-4 win-loss record overall, while the PEI men, skipped by Bill Hope, had a combined two wins and seven losses in the round robin and seeding pool. The event’s awards banquet was held on Saturday evening, with Team PEI’s Craig Mackie winning the men’s sportsmanship award and Ellen Johnson from the Yukon receiving the women’s.

Photo: Craig Mackie (right), Ellen Johnson 

BC’s women’s team of skip Pat Sanders, third Lorraine Gagnon, second Sherry Findlay and lead Roselyn Craig beat Ontario’s team of skip Dale Curtis, third Rosemary Gowman, second Brenda Clark and lead Susan Martin with a score of 6-5 to progress to the women’s gold medal game.

Saskatchewan’s women’s team of skip Delores Syrota, third Beverly Krasowski, second Donna Liebrecht and lead Sylvia Broad won the other women’s semifinal game with a score of 8-5 over Nova Scotia’s team of skip Colleen Pinkney, third Margaret Cutcliffe, second Karen Hennigar and lead Susan Creelman.

BC and Saskatchewan will meet in the women’s gold medal game at 11:00am on Sunday April 8 at Cloverdale Curling Club. Saskatchewan will be looking to defend their title of 2017 Canadian Masters Curling Championship women’s gold medalists. The last time a BC team won the women’s gold medal was in 2015.

Ontario and Nova Scotia will play in the women’s bronze medal game at 9:00am on Sunday April 8 at Peace Arch Curling Centre.

BC’s men’s team of skip Craig Lepine, third Neil Houston, second Craig McLeod and lead Kevin Jeannotte beat the BC-Host team of skip Rob Koffski, third Pat Ryan, second Randy Nelson and lead Glen Brennan in their semifinal game with a score of 7-2 to advance to the men’s gold medal game.

In the other men’s semifinal game, Alberta’s team of skip Mickey Pendergast, third Rob Armitage, second Randy Ponich and lead Rick Hjertaas beat Manitoba’s team of skip Mark Franklin, third Brent McCannell, second Bill Menzies and lead Larry Borus with a score of 6-3.

Lepine‘s BC team will play Alberta in the men’s gold medal game at 2:00pm on Sunday April 8 at Cloverdale Curling Club. The last time a BC team won the men’s gold medal was in 2011. Alberta’s Team Armstrong won silver at the 2017 Canadian Masters Curling Championship.

Koffski’s BC-Host team will meet Manitoba in the men’s bronze medal game at 9:00am on Sunday April 8 at Peace Arch Curling Centre.

The schedule and game results can be found on the event website:

The gold medal games will be live-streamed here:

Photos from the event can be found here:

Comments are closed.