PEI Curling Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony


The Prince Edward Island Curling Hall of Fame and Museum is set to host its twelfth annual induction ceremony on Monday October 22, 2018 at O’Leary’s Maple Leaf Curling Club, which has been designated as the new official home of the PEI Curling Hall of Fame and Museum. 

Five inductees are being honoured for their achievements and contributions to the sport of curling: Derek MacEwen, Stratford; Susan McInnis, Milton Station; Clifford Poirier, Summerside; Ernie Stavert, Cornwall; and Clair Sweet, O’Leary.

Each of the inductees has excelled in their sport:

Derek MacEwen


Without a doubt, Derek MacEwen is the person responsible for bringing curling into the internet age on PEI – providing provincial championship event coverage via web pages and introducing websites for the Cornwall Curling Club and Curl PEI in the early 2000s, which he maintains to this day.  He has advanced the sport by using technology to make curling information readily available. Derek will be recognized for his initiative and dedication to curling coverage when he is inducted into the PEI Curling Hall of Fame as a builder.

 Susan McInnis

An impressive curling career highlighted with eight PEI Women’s Curling Championships, six PEI Mixed Curling Championships and one Senior Women’s Curling Championship, Susan will be inducted into the PEI Curling Hall of Fame as a curler.

Clifford Poirier

For 35 years, Cliff Poirier has worked as a volunteer in curling. He has an extensive resume – in a few words – he has done it all – and a lot of it – when it comes to officiating, umpiring, and conducting courses, as well as organizing and running events. Thirty-five years of dedication to curling, helping to grow the game on PEI, Cliff Poirier is very worthy of induction into the PEI Curling Hall of Fame as a builder.  


Ernie Stavert

Since 1969, Ernie Stavert has been involved in curling as a competitor, an administrator, a promoter of the sport to youth in his role as a high school teacher, as well as a key component in the growth of Stick Curling on PEI, where he can be described as the initiator, chief organizer, and key administrator. He will be inducted into the PEI Curling Hall of Fame as a builder.

Clair Sweet


A member of the Maple Leaf Curling Club since it opened in 1978, Clair has been an active member in the curling community in his club and in the provincial association serving in administrative and officiating capacities. It is fitting that Clair will be inducted as a builder at the twelfth annual induction ceremony at his home club in O’Leary on October 22. 

 “Recognizing the accomplishments of curlers and builders who have dedicated their time and energy to the sport of curling is an important component of our curling history”, says Jerry Muzika, Chairman of the PEI Curling Hall of Fame and Museum. Muzika notes that the twelfth annual induction ceremony marks the first time the event has been held at the Maple Leaf Curling Club, He invites everyone to come out and honour the inductees.

The main objectives of the Curling Hall of Fame and Museum are to recognize, honour and pay tribute to individuals or teams on the basis of playing ability, as an amateur or a professional (“Curler” category), and to individuals who have given distinguished service and have made major contributions to the development of curling on Prince Edward Island (“Builder” category).

The event, with host Paul H. Schurman, gets underway at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are $10.00 and are available at the door.

This year’s ceremony is sponsored by PEI Ford Dealers, Beaton’s Wholesale Dry Goods, Consolidated Credit Union Ltd., and Phillips Feed Service.

Comments are closed.