2016 KFC PEI Under 13 Curling Championship

Live Results


Click for U13 full Scoreboard


Rachel MacLean rink goes undefeated to win KFC Under 13

The Rachel MacLean rink from the Cornwall Curling Club won all seven of their games to capture the KFC Provincial Under 13 Curling Championships, which wrapped up this afternoon at the Charlottetown Curling Complex, edging their clubmates, the Chase MacMillan team, by a 4-3 score in the final. The six end game was tied 3-all after five ends, with MacMillan having last rock advantage coming home, but MacLean stole a single in the last end for the championship.

u13winners2016Winning team photo (L-R): Phillip McInnis from the Charlottetown Curling Complex, Davis Nicholson, Rachel MacLean, Avery Nicholson, Gracie Gaudet, Carl Nicholson (coach)

u13runnersup2016Runner-up team photo (L-R): Phillip McInnis from the Charlottetown Curling Complex, Lilly Taweel, Chase MacMillan, Liam Barbrick, Butch McGee (coach). Missing from photo: Jack MacFadyen

Other members of the winning MacLean rink were third Avery Nicholson, second Davis Nicholson, and lead Gracie Gaudet, with coaches Carl Nicholson and Brenda MacMillan. Rounding out the runner-up MacMillan foursome were third Liam Barbrick, second stone Lilly Taweel, and lead Jack MacFadyen, with coaches Butch McGee and Joe MacMillan

MacLean, and defending champ Mitchell Schut and his Cornwall/Silver Fox rink, were both undefeated in round robin play, but the MacMillan team eliminated the Schut rink with an 8-5 win in the semi-finals, aided by a five point fifth end. MacLean was trailing 3-2 in her semi against Summerside’s Cruz Pineau, but scored a triple in the seventh end for a 5-3 win.

The Sportsmanship award, as voted on by the curlers, and the Coaching award, as voted on by all the coaches, were announced at the closing ceremonies, with .Brock Rochford, third on the Cruz Pineau rink, winning the Sportsmanship award, and Nancy Collier, coach of the Eliza Blacquiere, Sydney Carver, and Sam Shaw rinks from Montague taking the coaching award.

Eleven teams took part in the championship.

Draw and Schedule

Date Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4 Ice 5 BYE
2:30pm 1 Pineau vs Wilkins Carver vs Jack Wood vs MacMillan Gavin vs Shaw Blacquiere vs MacLean Schut
6pm 2 Gavin vs Blacquiere MacMillan vs MacLean Pineau vs Schut Wilkins vs Carver Wood vs Shaw Jack
11am 3 Shaw vs MacLean Wilkins vs Schut MacMillan vs Blacquiere Wood vs Gavin Pineau vs Jack Carver
2:30pm 4 Jack vs Schut Pineau vs Carver Gavin vs MacLean MacMillan vs Shaw Wood vs Blacquiere Wilkins
6pm 5 Shaw vs Blacquiere Wood vs MacLean Carver vs Schut Wilkins vs Jack MacMillan vs Gavin Pineau
Mar-13 11am 6 SEMI 1
1stA vs 2ndB
1stB vs 2ndA
2:30pm 7 FINAL
Semi winners
Pool A Pool B
Pineau Wood
Wilkins MacMillan
Carver Gavin
Jack Shaw
Schut Blacquiere

Team Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coaches, Alternates Club
Clara Jack Beth Walsh Rory Ulvstal Darrah MacLeod Aleya Quilty (C), Hanny MacLeod (C) Cornwall
Eliza Blacquiere Isabelle Blacquiere Victoria McDonald Katie MacLean Nancy Collier (C) Montague
Sydney Carver Michaela MacLean Mary Scheepers Hannah Hogan Nancy Collier (C) Montague
Ella Gavin James MacWilliams Mannix Martin Elliot Shea Kayden Gallant (A), Daryl Adams (C), John Martin (C) Maple Leaf Curling Club
Rachel MacLean Avery Nicholson Davis Nicholson Gracie Gaudet Carl Nicholson (C), Brenda MacMillan (C) Cornwall
Chase MacMillan Liam Barbrick Lilly Taweel Jack MacFadyen Butch McGee (C), Joe MacMillan (C) Cornwall
Cruz Pineau Brock Rochford Logan Rogers Brayden Snow Shelley MacFadyen (C) Silver Fox
Mitchell Schut Liam Kelly Noelle Handrahan Noah Gallant Devin Schut Cornwall, Silver Fox
Sam Shaw Nick Dijkema Nate Shaw Brody Quinn Nancy Collier (C), Owen Collier (C) Montague
Alyssa Wilkins Nikkita Ellsworth Bridget Wallace Jorja McLellan Riley Adams (A), John Martin (C), Shawn Ellsworth (C) Maple Leaf
Olivia Wood Shyann Gallant Madison Profit Madison Adams Mallory Rochford (A), Shelley MacFadyen (C) Silver Fox

Click for last year’s event.