Jamie Newson rink from Silver Fox wins PEI Travelers Men’s, Cornwall steals final end to advance to women’s semi (updated)

The Jamie Newson foursome from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Community Complex in Summerside are the 2018 PEI men’s representatives for the national Travelers Curling Club Championship, following a 5-3 win over the Alan Inman squad from the  Crapaud Community Curling Club this afternoon in Montague. Dates and venue for the nationals have not yet been announced. Newson, who stole singles in three ends of the final, finished 5-1 in the round robin, tied with the Daryl MacDonald rink from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton, but beat MacDonald in their round robin encounter, earning the bye to the final. MacDonald lost the semi-final this morning, 9-5 to Inman, who had a 4-2 third-place win-loss record in the seven-team round robin.


Photo (L-R) Winning Newson team: Larry Richards from the Montague Curling Rink, Jamie Newson (skip), Corey Miller (3rd), Patrick Ramsay (2nd), Adam Arsenault (lead)

Playing with Newson were third Corey Miller, second stone Patrick Ramsay, and lead Adam Arsenault, while third Calvin Smith, second Nathan Hardy, and lead Nick Blanchard complete the Inman team roster.

Photo (L-R) Inman Finalist team: Larry Richards from the Montague Curling Rink, Nathan Hardy (2nd), Nick Blanchard (lead), Alan Inman (skip), Calvin Smith (3rd)

In the women’s event, the Debbie Rhodenhizer rink from the Cornwall Curling Club won two tiebreakers today to advance to the six pm semi-final game against second-place Tammy Dewar and her Montague team. Rhodenhizer downed Western’s Sharon Horne rink 9-2 in her first tiebreaker, but the second one, against Crapaud’s Amanda Holm rink was a lot tougher. The game was tied 3-all at the fourth end break, but Holm took one in the fifth and stole a deuce in the sixth for a three-point lead with only two ends left. Rhodenhizer tied it up with a triple in end seven, and stole a single in the eighth to win 7-6 and advance to the semi.

File Photo (L-R): Alan Inman, Debbie Rhodenhizer, Melissa Morrow

Photo: Tammy Dewar

The winner of the 6 pm semi-final will face the undefeated Melissa Morrow rink from the Silver Fox on Tuesday, and would have to win two games – at 10 am and 2 pm, to take the championship, while a win in either game would give the title to Morrow, as the rules state that a team who goes through the round robin undefeated has to be beaten twice. The eventual winner will join the Newson team at the nationals.

Live results are available at PEICurling.com


Comments are closed.