PEI Stick Curling Ch’ships in O’Leary wrap up on Thursday

Ferguson FH

Stick Curling PEI Logo


Funeral Home
Provincial Stick Curling Championships



Morley Annear Ltd.

Round robin play wraps up Thursday morning at the Ferguson-Logan Montague Funeral Home PEI Stick Curling Championships being played at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary, with draws at 9 and 10:15, and the final Women’s Division round robin game at 11:30, along with the Open Division (any combination of men/women) quarter-finals at the same time. The semi-finals go at 1:15, with the finals at 2:30 in both divisions.

Going into the final day, Cornwall’s Gloria Clarke and Ruth Stavert rink are atop the Women’s standings with a 4-1 win-loss record, followed by Alberton’s Audrey Callaghan and Anne Barwise duo at 3-2, the defending champion Etta Reid and Hughes pair from Cornwall at 2-3, and the Janette Fraser and Carolyn Crockett twosome from Cornwall at 1-4.

Arthur Lewis and Dale Dennis from the Maple Leaf club in O’Leary lead the Open “A” pool at 5-1, with three West Prince teams — Hackett/Hogan and Vincent/Callaghan from Western, and Sweet/Matheson from the Maple Leaf, next at 4-2. The Sherill Barwise and Bill Smith team from Western lead the B pool at 4-1, followed by defending champ Paul Field and his wife Bernie, along with Harvey Holmes and Frances Ellsworth from Western, both with three wins and two losses.

The top four Open Division teams and top two Women’s division duos from this event advance to the Maritime Stick Curling Championships March 13-15 in Woodstock NB, while the top four Open and Women’s teams are eligible to compete at the 2020 Canadian Stick Curling Championships to be held April 2-5 at the Highland Curling Club in Regina, Saskatchewan.

Event website:

Live results from the PEI Stick Championship are available at

Draw and Schedule

Open Pool A Open Pool B Women Pool C
A O’Rourke/MacDonald 1 Betts/Hardy W1 Callaghan/Barwise
B Pineau 2 Harris W2 Fraser/Crockett
C Sweet/Matheson 3 Barwise/Smith W3 Reid/Hughes
D Higginbotham/Chaisson 4 Craswell W4 Clarke/Stavert
E Lewis/Dennis 5 Stewart/MacDonald Open Division Playoff Round is in green
F Hackett/Hogan 6 Holmes/Ellsworth
G Vincent/Callaghan 7 Field
H Power/Kerwin  
Date Time Draw # Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
FEB. 4
9 AM 1 Sweet/Matheson – Power/Kerwin Vincent/Callaghan – O’Rourke/MacDonald Higginbotham/Chaisson – Hackett/Hogan Lewis/Dennis – Pineau
10:15 AM 2 Betts/Hardy – Harris Barwise/Smith – Craswell Stewart/MacDonald – Holmes/Ellsworth Fraser/Crockett – Reid/Hughes
11:30 AM 3 Reid/Hughes – Clarke/Stavert Sweet/Matheson – Higginbotham/Chaisson Callaghan/Barwise – Fraser/Crockett  
1:15 PM 4 O’Rourke/MacDonald – Pineau Stewart/MacDonald – Field  Harris – Craswell Betts/Hardy – Barwise/Smith
2:30 PM 5 Fraser/Crockett – Clarke/Stavert Callaghan/Barwise – Reid/Hughes Lewis/Dennis – Hackett/Hogan Vincent/Callaghan -Power/Kerwin
3:45 PM 6 Hackett/Hogan – Power/Kerwin Lewis/Dennis – Vincent/Callaghan Pineau – Higginbotham/Chaisson O’Rourke/MacDonald – Sweet/Matheson
5 PM 7 Stewart/MacDonald – Craswell Callaghan/Barwise -Clarke/Stavert Field – Barwise/Smith Harris – Holmes/Ellsworth
FEB. 5
9 AM 8 Lewis/Dennis – Higginbotham/Chaisson O’Rourke/MacDonald – Power/Kerwin Vincent/Callaghan – Sweet/Matheson Pineau – Hackett/Hogan
10:15 AM 9   Callaghan/Barwise – Clarke/Stavert   Fraser/Crockett – Reid/Hughes
11:30 AM 10 Barwise/Smith – Holmes/Ellsworth Field – Harris  Callaghan/Barwise – Fraser/Crockett Betts/Hardy – Stewart/MacDonald
1:15 PM 11 Sweet/Matheson – Hackett/Hogan Vincent/Callaghan – Pineau Power/Kerwin – Higginbotham/Chaisson O’Rourke/MacDonald – Lewis/Dennis
2:30 PM 12 Field – Betts/Hardy Reid/Hughes – Clarke/Stavert Craswell – Holmes/Ellsworth Stewart/MacDonald- Harris
3:45 PM 13 Pineau – Sweet/Matheson Higginbotham/Chaisson – O’Rourke/MacDonald Power/Kerwin – Lewis/Dennis Hackett/Hogan -Vincent/Callaghan
5 PM 14 Harris – Barwise/Smith Craswell – Betts/Hardy   Holmes/Ellsworth – Field
FEB. 6
9 AM 15 Higginbotham/Chaisson – Vincent/Callaghan  Hackett/Hogan – O’Rourke/MacDonald Sweet/Matheson – Lewis/Dennis Power/Kerwin – Pineau 
10:15 AM 16 Craswell – Field Callaghan/Barwise- Reid/Hughes Barwise/Smith -Stewart/MacDonald Holmes/Ellsworth – Betts/Hardy
11:30 AM 17 Q1 Q2 Fraser/Crockett – Clarke/Stavert  
1:15 PM 18   SEMI W SEMI 1 SEMI 2
2:30 PM 19   FINAL O FINAL W  
Open Pools will play a single round-robin and the Women’s Pool  will play a double round-robin
Open Division Playoff Round: Women’s Division Playoff Round:
Q1(O) – 2 Place pool A vs 3rd place pool B SEMI (W) – 2nd place vs 3rd place
Q2(O) – 3rd place pool A vs 2nd place pool B FINAL (W) winner SEMI (W) vs 1st place
SEMI (O) 1 – winner of Q1(O) vs 1st place pool B  
SEMI (O) 2 – winner Q2(O) vs 1st place pool A
Final (O) – winner SEMI (O) 1 vs winner of SEMI (O) 2
Games – Teams play an extra end with 3 rocks each    
Playoffs – 1st by wins and losses by team, 2nd by head to head results, 3rd by points – 3 Pts for a win, 0 pts for a loss, 1 Point per end, ½ pt for a blank end, 3 pts (MAX.) difference of score


 Team Rosters

O=Open Division (any combination of male/female)


O – Barwise/Smith

Western Community Curling Club, Alberton, PEI

Sherill Barwise, Bill Smith

O – Betts/Hardy

Western Community Curling Club, Alberton, PEI

Glen Betts, Leslie Hardy

O – Craswell

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PEI

Barry Craswell, Myrna Craswell

O – Field

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PEI

Paul Field, Bernie Field

O – Hackett/Hogan

Western Community Curling Club, Alberton, PEI

Alvin Hackett, Victor Hogan

O – Harris

Maple Leaf Curling Club, O’Leary, PEI

Muncey Harris, Leah Harris

O – Higginbotham/Chaisson

Montague Curling Club, Montague, PEI

Sterling Higginbotham, Wayne Chaisson

O – Holmes/Ellsworth

Western Community Curling Club, Alberton, PEI

Harvey Holmes, Frances Ellsworth

O – Lewis/Dennis

Maple Leaf Curling Club, O’Leary, PEI

Arthur Lewis, Dale Dennis

O – O’Rourke/MacDonald

Montague Curling Club, Montague, PEI

Tom O’Rourke, John MacDonald

O – Pineau

Maple Leaf Curling Club, O’Leary, PEI

Alfie Pineau, Marie Pineau

O – Power/Kerwin

Montague Curling Club, Montague, PEI

Billy Power, Howard Kerwin

O – Stewart/MacDonald

Montague Curling Club, Montague, PEI

Floyd Stewart, Gordon MacDonald

O – Sweet/Matheson

Maple Leaf Curling Club, O’Leary, PEI

Clair Sweet, Bob Matheson

O – Vincent/Callaghan

Western Community Curling Club, Alberton, PEI

John Vincent, Walter Callaghan

W – Callaghan/Barwise

Western Community Curling Club, Alberton, PEI

Audrey Callaghan, Anne Barwise

W – Clarke/Stavert

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PEI

Gloria Clarke, Ruth Stavert

W – Fraser/Crockett

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PEI

Janette Fraser, Carolyn Crockett

W – Reid/Hughes

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PEI

Etta Reid, Elaine Hughes


Comments are closed.