Provincial Masters Curling Championships

Click for Masters Curlcast Results

Mel Bernard rink wins PEI Masters Men’s Championship, Shirley Berry repeats as women’s champ

The Mel Bernard rink from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside are the 2015 Curl PEI Provincial Masters men’s curling champions, sweeping all three sections of the modified triple knockout draw in the event, taking place at the Cornwall Curling Club, making a championship round, which had been scheduled for Tuesday, unnecessary. They edged the Clair Sweet team from the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary by a 6-5 score this afternoon in the “C” final of the event, stealing the final end when Sweet’s last shot, a draw to the four foot, was light.


Photo (L-R): Mel Bernard, Lou Nowlan, Earle Proude, Alan Montgomery

Bernard is curling with three members of last year’s winning team – third Lou Nowlan, second Earle Proude, and lead Alan Montgomery. Last year’s skip, Ted MacFadyen, was unable to compete due to a prior commitment, so Bernard stepped in as skip this year. The rink also recently won the recent provincial Legion curling championships. Nowlan has now won the Masters event 10 times.

DSC_0496Photo (L-R): Wayne Arsenault, Muncey Harris, Bob Matheson, Clair Sweet

The runner-up Sweet team includes third Bob Matheson, second Muncey Harris, and lead Wayne Arsenault.

Sweet stole the first end in the final game, with the teams trading singles in the next two ends, and blanking the 4th, to give Sweet a 2-1 lead after four ends. Bernard grabbed a 3-2 lead with a deuce in five, but Sweet came back with a hit for three to lead 5-3.  Bernard then tied the game with a draw for two, but Sweet had the last rock advantage coming home. In the final end, Sweet was lying one or two and then put up a guard with his first shot. Bernard tried an “in-off” shot off his second stone and it worked, rolling to the four foot behind cover. Bernard then put up a guard to prevent a raise on one side, leaving Sweet with a draw to the four foot on the other side, which came up light, giving the win to the Bernard foursome.


Photo: Sweet prepares for his final shot

Meanwhile, the  Shirley Berry rink from the Cornwall and Charlottetown curling clubs are repeat Curl PEI Masters women’s champs, winning their first three games of their best of five championship against the Diane MacKay rink, taking the title with a 9-1 score in this morning’s game at the Cornwall Curling Club. MacKay curls out of the host club, and was runner-up last year as well. Berry said that she tried to keep the game simple, minimizing rocks in play, and it worked out for her. The game was tied 1-all after three ends, but Berry pulled ahead with a stolen deuce in the fourth, and then put the game out of reach for the MacKay squad by stealing four points in the fifth end.


Photo (L-R): Butch McGee (coach), Shirley Berry, Sandy Hope, Shelley Ebbett, Arleen Harris

Other members of the winning Berry rink are third Sandy Hope, second Shelley Ebbett, and lead Arleen Harris, with coaches Butch McGee and Bill Hope. Rounding out the MacKay team are third Valerie MacLean, second Debbie Rhodenhizer, and lead Carlene Peters.


Photo (L-R):  Carlene Peters, Debbie Rhodenhizer, Valerie MacLean, Diane MacKay

The Bernard, Sweet, Berry and MacKay teams  have all earned the right to compete in the Maritime Masters Championships. Dates and venue for this event have not yet been confirmed. The winning Bernard and Berry rinks or the runner-up Sweet and MacKay teams if they don’t choose to attend,  are also invited to participate in the 2015 NVA Hotel Divison Canadian Masters Championships, March 30 to Apr. 5 at the Whitehorse Curling Club in the Yukon.

Masters curlers are age 60 and over.


Click for opening day photos

Click for day two photos


Here is the Men’s draw (not updated during event – see Curlcast for updates).

mastersdraw2Here is the event schedule (Women’s games are in pink and prefaced with “W”, Men’s games are prefaced with “M”)masters2015schedMasters Men’s Team Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Alt. Club
Paul Arsenault Ron Giggey Roy Coffin Edgar Coffin Lew Black Cornwall Curling Club
Mel Bernard Lou Nowlan Earle Proude Alan Montgomery Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club
Ray Biagé Tom Dunn Frank Weiler Edmond Richard Cornwall Curling Club
Dale Cannon (1st) Blair Jay (4th) Des Arsenault Jim Evans (2nd) Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club
Barry Craswell Bryan Sutherland Paul Field Alva Clarey Cornwall Curling Club
Bill Hope Craig Mackie David Murphy Bill Doherty Charlottetown/ Cornwall
Bob Maynard Harry Williams Bruce Montgomery Spike Martin Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club
Matt Smith Julien Gaudin Shoji Yamamoto Bill McGuire Charlottetown Curling Complex
Clair Sweet Bob Matheson Muncey Harris Wayne Arsenault Maple Leaf Curling Club
Louis Walsh Doug Waugh Steven Bent Walter Benson Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club

Masters Women’s Team rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coaches Club
Shirley Berry Sandy Hope Shelley Ebbett Arleen Harris Butch McGee, Bill Hope Cornwall/ Charlottetown
Diane MacKay Valerie MacLean Debbie Rhodenhizer Carlene Peters Cornwall Curling Club

Click for previous Masters championships

Defending champs are the Shirley Berry rink from the host club and Summerside’s Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club, and the Ted MacFadyen team from the Fox. MacFadyen is not back this year, but his three teammates are, skipped by Mel Bernard.

The men’s and women’s winners and runners-up (which will include both women’s teams this year) will earn the right to compete in the Maritime Masters Championships. Dates and venue for this event have not yet been announced. The winning teams, or the highest-finishing men’s and women’s rinks that choose to attend, are invited to participate in the 2015 NVA Hotel Divison Canadian Masters Championships, March 30 to Apr. 5 at the Whitehorse Curling Club in the Yukon.

End by end results from the Provincial Masters will be available at


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *