2018 PEI Seniors Curling Ch’ships

Bill Hope rink wins PEI Senior Men’s championship

Shirley Berry team sweeps Senior Women’s event

The Bill Hope rink from the Cornwall Curling Club, which includes third Craig Mackie, second David Murphy, and lead Peter Murdoch, are the new PEI Senior Men’s (age 50+) champs, unseating the defending champion Philip Gorveatt rink with a 7-4 win this morning at the Crapaud Community Curling Club.

Photo (L-R): Winning Bill Hope rink – David Murphy, Bill Hope, Craig Mackie, Peter Murdoch

The Hope foursome had won two sections of the modified triple knockout draw, giving them a “double life” in the two-game championship draw, but they won the first one, and the sudden-death game was not required. In the final, a fourth end triple, followed by stolen deuce in the fifth gave them a 6-3 lead. The teams then traded singles, and Gorveatt ran out of rocks in the last end.

Photo (L-R): Finalist Philip Gorveatt rink — Mark Victor, Mike Dillon, Kevin Champion, Philip Gorveatt

Rounding out the Gorveatt finalist rink are third Kevin Champion, second stone Mike Dillon, and lead Mark Victor. The Hope team, who also made it to the finals in the Master’s (age 60+) championships this year, had a 5-1 win-loss record in this event, losing only to Gorveatt.

On Sunday the Shirley Berry rink from the Cornwall Curling Club went undefeated with a 5-0 win-loss record, sweeping all three modified triple knockout sections in the five-team Senior Women’s event, making a championship round unnecessary. 

Photo (L-R): Kevin Smith from the host Crapaud club, Shirley Berry, Janice Murdoch, Arleen Harris, Kim Nicholson

The Berry team, which includes skip Shirley Berry, third stone Janice Murdoch, second Arleen Harris, and lead Kim Nicholson, won the “A” section final 8-7 in an extra end over the Sharon Horne rink from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton, coming from behind to take a triple in the eighth end and steal a single in the extra. They then took on Cornwall clubmate Debbie Rhodenhizer and her rink, winning 7-5, and captured their third section with a 10-8 victory over defending champion Shelly Ebbett and her Charlottetown team, stealing a deuce in the final end for the win.

The Horne rink, who won the “A” final, were the women’s event runners-up.

The Shirley Berry and Bill Hope teams now advance to the 2018 Everest Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championship,  March 24 to 29 at the Stratford Ontario Rotary Complex.


Crapaud to host 2018 Seniors

The PEI Seniors Curling Championships, with men’s and women’s divisions for curlers age 50 and over, take place at the Crapaud Community Curling Club from February 9 to 12.  Winners advance to the 2018 Everest Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championship,  March 24 to 29 at the Stratford Ontario Rotary Complex, a facility that features two ice surfaces — RBC Arena and Molson Arena. 

Defending senior women’s champs are the Shelley Ebbett rink from the Charlottetown Curling Complex and the Cornwall Curling Club, who doubled Cornwall’s Shirley Berry foursome 6-3 in last year’s final.

The Phil Gorveatt rink from Charlottetown are the defending Senior Men’s champions, defeating the Robert Campbell team from Charlottetown and the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Community Complex 6-5 in an extra end in last year’s final.

Both rinks are back looking to defend their respective titles.

The three men’s and five women’s teams will play modified triple knockout draws, with the winner of each section dropping down to compete in subsequent sections. If a team wins all three sections, they will be champion without a playoff, Otherwise, the section winners advance to a two-game championship round on Monday. 

Click for Live End-by-End Scoring


Men’s games have light green background
Women’s games have plum  background
Qualifier games have game number highlighted in yellow

Day Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Feb. 9
10 am 1 A   B  
2 pm 2   1 C D
6 pm 3 F E 2  
Feb. 10
2 pm 4 3 H   G
6 pm 5 J 4 I  
Feb. 11
10 am 6   K 5  
2 pm 7   6 L  
Feb. 12
10 am  8   WA MA  
2 pm 9   MB WB  


Modified Triple Knockout Draw Playoff Scenarios

1. One team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. One team wins two qualifiers. They play in both X and Z (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in Y (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in Z and the other winners play off in X and Y. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to Z and the other two teams play off in X and Y.

*Qualifying games have yellow game number background on the schedule


(Draw tree will not be updated during event – refer to online scoring for draw progression)


Team Rosters

(Click on Team Name for players)

Team Coach Affiliation Location
M-Team Gorveatt N/A Charlottetown Curling Complex Charlottetown, PE
M-Team Hope N/A Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE
M-Team Zannier N/A Crapaud Curling Club Crapaud, PE
W-Team Berry N/A Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE
W-Team Ebbett N/A Charlottetown and Cornwall curling clubs Charlottetown and Cornwall, PE
W-Team Horne N/A Western and Maple Leaf curling clubs Alberton and O’Leary, PE
W-Team MacRae N/A Crapaud Curling Club Crapaud, PE
W-Team Rhodenhizer Bill MacFadyen Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE


Click for last year’s event

Click for previous provincial seniors websites and winners.