2020 PEI Seniors Curling Championships

Phil Gorveatt runs table to repeat as Seniors Men’s Champ, Kim Dolan takes the Women’s title

The Phil Gorveatt team from the Charlottetown Curling Club went undefeated, winning all three qualifiers to capture the PEI Senior Men’s Curling Championship Monday at the Cornwall Curling Club, without having to play a championship round. The Mark MacDonald foursome from the host club were in the A and B qualifier games, and are considered to be the “finalist” team.

The Kim Dolan rink from the host Cornwall club won the women’s title, winning all games except the “C” final, which Cornwall’s Shirley Berry squad took by a 9-3 score to force a deciding game.

The Gorveatt and Dolan teams will now advance to the 2020 Everest Canadian Senior Curling Championships, March 16-22 at the Portage Curling Club in Portage la Prairie, Man.

Men’s champions (L-R): Craig Mackie representing Curl PEI, Phil Gorveatt, Kevin Champion, Sean Ledgerwood, Mike Dillon

Women’s winners (L-R): Julie Scales, Kathy O’Rourke, Susan McInnis, Kim Dolan

Men’s “Finalist” team (L-R): Craig Mackie representing Curl PEI, Mark MacDonald, Garth Cudmore, Joe Callaghan. Missing from picture: Angus Kennedy

Women’s “Finalist” team (L-R): Arleen Harris, Karen Currie, Janice Murdoch, Shirley Berry


The 2020 PEI Seniors Curling Championships, with male and female divisions for curlers age 50 and over, are set for the Cornwall Curling Club, from February 14-18, with four women’s and eight men’s teams signed up, including the defending champions, the Kim Aylward women’s rink from the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside and the Phil Gorveatt men’s squad from Charlottetown. Six of the 12 teams are listed as curling out of the host club, with three teams from the Silver Fox, two from Charlottetown, and one from Crapaud.

The men’s and women’s teams will play modified triple knockout draws, with the winner of each section dropping down to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three sections, they will be champion without a playoff; otherwise, the section winners advance to a two-game championship round on Monday. 

The event winners will advance to the 2020 Everest Canadian Senior Curling Championships, March 16-22 at the Portage Curling Club in Portage la Prairie, Man.

Click for Live End-by-End Scoring

Draw Tree

(modified triple knockout with two-game qualifier round, unless a team wins all three section qualifier games)

(Draw tree will not be updated during event – refer to online scoring for draw progression)



Men’s games have light green background
Women’s games have plum background
Qualifier games have game number highlighted in yellow

Date Draw Time Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Feb. 14
1 10 am 1 2 3 4
2 2  pm     B A
3 6 pm 8 6 7 5
Feb. 15
4 10 am 9 C 11  
5 2 pm E 10   D
6 6 pm 15 13 12 14
Feb. 16
7 10 am 17 16 F 18
8 2 pm G H 20 19
Feb. 17
9 10 am   21 I  
10 2 pm   WA MA  
Feb. 18
11 10 am   MB WB  


Modified Triple Knockout Draw Playoff Scenarios

Explanation for MA/WA and MB/WB:
1. One team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. One team wins two qualifiers. They play in both MA or WA and MB or WB (and win the event if they win either game). The other section winner plays in MA or WA and has to win to advance to MB or WB.

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games advances to MB or WB, and the other winners play off in MA or WA. If there is a tie in the number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to MB or WB and the other two teams play off in MA or WA.

*Qualifying games have yellow game number background on the schedule

Team Rosters

(Number = throwing order, “S” designates Skip)

M-Team B.Hope

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PE

Bill Hope (4-S), Peter Murdoch (3), David Murphy (2), Dario Zannier (1)

M-Team Gorveatt

Charlottetown Curling Club, Charlottetown, PE

Philip Gorveatt (4-S), Kevin Champion (3), Sean Ledgerwood (2), Mike Dillon (1)

M-Team Inman

Crapaud Community Curling Club, Crapaud, PE

Alan Inman (4-S), Phil McInnis (3), Calvin Smith (2), Frank MacDonald (1)

M-Team Jay

Silver Fox Curling Club, Summerside, PE

Blair Jay (4-S), Dale Cannon (3), Glenn Rogers (2), Alan Montgomery (1)

M -Team Kassner

Charlottetown Curling Club, Charlottetown, PE

David Kassner (4-S), Ensor McNeill (3), Derrick Cameron (2), Bill McGuire (1)

M-Team Likely

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PE

John Likely (4-S), Mark O’Rourke (3), Alan Brown (2), Blair Weeks (1)

M-Team MacDonald

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PE

Mark MacDonald (4-S), Garth Cudmore (3), Angus Kennedy (2), Joe Callaghan (1)

M-Team MacFadyen

Silver Fox Curling Club, Summerside, PE

Gordon MacFadyen (4-S), Pat Aylward (3), Jimmy Arsenault (2), Gerald Caissy (1)

W-Team Aylward

Silver Fox Curling Club, Summerside, PE

Kim Aylward (4-S), Shelley MacFadyen (3), Debbie Caissy (2), Donna Whelan (1)

W-Team Berry

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PE, Butch MacGee (coach)

Shirley Berry (4-S), Janice Murdoch (3), Karen Currie (2), Arleen Harris (1)

W-Team Dolan

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PE

Kim Dolan (4-S), Susan McInnis (3), Kathy O’Rourke (2), Julie Scales (1)

W-Team Hope

Cornwall Curling Club, Cornwall, PE, Bill Hope (coach)

Sandy Hope (4-S), Nancy MacFadyen (3), Karen Hardy (2), Debbie Rhodenhizer (1)

Click for last year’s event

Click for previous provincial seniors websites and winners.