2020 PEI Under 13 Open Curling Championship

Ella Lenentine rink goes undefeated to win PEI Under 13 Open Curling Ch’ship

The seven-team round-robin PEI Under 13 Open Curling Championship wrapped up Sunday afternoon at the Montague Curling Club, with the Ella Lenentine rink from the Cornwall Curling Club going undefeated with a 6-0 record to win the event. The Nate Young team from the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside finished next with a 4-2 win-loss record, followed by three teams at an even 3-3, skipped by Reid Hart out of the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary, Madalyn Easter from the Silver Fox, and Cornwall’s Jonas MacLellan.

Ella Lenentine U13 Champion Team (L-R): Curl PEI President Sandy Matheson, Kacey Gauthier (lead), Makiya Noonan (second),  Mollie Shaw (3rd), Ella Lenentine (skip), Robbie Lenentine (coach)
Nate Young U13 Finalist Team (L-R): Curl PEI President Sandy Matheson, Ethan Peters-Ellis (lead), Keiran Kelly (second), William Sawchuk (3rd), Nate Young (skip), Jamie Newson (coach)
The closing ceremonies concluded with the presentation of the Sportsmanship award, as voted on by the players, and Coaching award, as voted on by the coaches and officials in the event, with Maple Leaf Curling Club skip Reid Hart receiving the Sportsmanship honours, and Bobbi Jean Boylan, coach of the Hart team, winning the Coaching award.
U13 Sportsmanship award (L-R) Sandy Matheson, Curl PEI President, Reid Hart, Sportsmanship Award recipient
U13 Coaching Award recipient Bobbi Jean Boylan (right) with Curl PEI President Sandy Matheson


Montague Curling Rink to host 2020 Under 13

Open Curling Ch’ship

The Montague Curling Rink will play host to Curl PEI’s championship event for its youngest curlers — those under the age of 13 years, from March 6-8, with seven teams entered. This is an “open” event with any combination of boys and/or girls on a team. Teams play six-end games.

Live results will be available at peicurling.com/scoreboard

DateTimeDrawIce 1Ice 2 Ice 3Ice 4BYE 
Mar. 6
2:30 pm11 – 23 – 45 – 6 7
6 pm2 2 – 51 – 34 – 76
Mar. 7
10:30 am33 – 61 – 42 -7 5
2 pm4 5 – 71 – 62 – 34
5:30 pm51 – 72 – 64 -5 3
Mar. 8
10:30 am64 – 61 – 53 -7 2
2 pm73 – 56 – 7 2 – 41
1MacLellanThere will be one pool.  The  pool will play a round robin.
2MacWilliamsThere will be no tie-breakers played for finals.
3YoungFinal positions will be determined first by win/loss, then head to head between tied teams, then cumulative Last Stone Delivery (draw to the button) and finally by points.
6Lenentine5 Points per win, 1 point per end and 1 point for difference of score to a max of 3.

Team Rosters

(Click team for individual players)

Team EasterAmy DuncanSilver Fox Curling ClubSummerside, PE
Team HartBobbi Jean BoylanMaple Leaf Curling ClubO’Leary, PE
Team HoganBev HardingMontague Curling ClubMontague, PE
Team LenentineRobbie LenentineCornwall Curling ClubCornwall, PE
Team MacLellanDarren GallantCornwall Curling ClubCornwall, PE
Team MacWilliamsGlen PhillipsMaple Leaf Curling ClubO’Leary, PE
Team YoungJamie NewsonSilver Fox Curling ClubSummerside, PE

Click for last year’s event.