Brooks Roche wins Joan Mead Legacy Award/Scholarship, Pat Quilty wins Asham Nat. Coaching award at Juniors (Curling Canada/Curl PEI)

VICTORIA — The all-stars and other award winners at the 2017 Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, presented by Ambrosia Apples, were announced on Friday at the awards banquet at the Songhees Wellness Centre. 

Photo (Left): Coaching Mentor Bill Tschirhart (middle) with Asham National Coaching Award winners Paul Tardi (BC Men), left, and Pat Quilty (PEI Women), right.

Photo (Right): Joan Mead Legacy Award winners (includes a $500 scholarship) Brooks Roche (PEI, left), and Michelle Taylor (NL), right.

PEI won two awards – with Montague’s Brooks Roche winning the Joan Mead Legacy Award and $500 scholarship, and Pat Quilty, coach of the Lauren Lenentine rink from Cornwall taking the Asham National Coaching Award for women’s teams.

The Joan Mead Legacy Award, in honour of former CBC curling producer Mead, is selected by the event officials, and is awarded annually to a male and a female junior curler who best exemplify leadership, excellence and fair play, and recognizes community involvement, academic achievement, and volunteerism. Previous winners from PEI include Chloé McCloskey, Michelle McQuaid, and Jonathan Schut from the Cornwall Curling Club, Meaghan Hughes from the Charlottetown Curling Club, and Adam Casey from the Silver Fox.

The ASHAM Coaching Award is voted on by the coaches in the event. Quilty also won the provincial ASHAM Coaching Award for women’s teams this year.

Here is a complete list of winners:

(determined by shooting percentages during the round robin)

First Team
Skip — Hailey Armstrong, Ontario (80 per cent)
Third — Grace Holyoke, Ontario (81 per cent)
Second — Sara Oliver, Manitoba (81 per cent)
Lead — Rebecca Cormier, Manitoba (81 per cent)

Second Team
Skip — Kaitlyn Jones, Saskatchewan (76 per cent)
Third — Chantele Broderson, Alberta (80 per cent)
Second — Sara Guy, Northern Ontario (80 per cent)
Lead — Shantel Hutton, Saskatchewan (80 per cent)

First Team
Skip — Tanner Horgan, Northern Ontario (81 per cent)
Third — Jacob Horgan, Northern Ontario (83 per cent)
Second — Joey Hart, Ontario (85 per cent)
Lead — Nicholas Rabl, Alberta (87 per cent)

Second Team
Skip — Tyler Tardi, B.C. (79 per cent)
Third — Tyler Lautner, Alberta (83 per cent)
Second — Nick Bissonnette, Northern Ontario (83 per cent)
Lead — Alec Cameron, Nova Scotia (85 per cent)
* In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he/she outcurls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.

Ken Watson Sportsmanship Awards
(voted by the players)

Women — Camille Boisvert, Quebec
Men — Nicholas Rabl, Alberta

Balance Plus Fair Play Awards
(selected by the officials)

Lead — Garret Minute, Northwest Territories
Second — Graham McFarlane, Manitoba
Vice-skip — Sterling Middleton, B.C.
Skip — JT Ryan, Manitoba
Coach — Nick Kaeser, Northwest Territories

Lead — Marcia Richardson, Ontario
Second  —Kate Goodhelpsen, Alberta
Vice-skip — Laura Guénard, Quebec
Skip — Krysta Burns, Northern Ontario
Coach — Susan Lang, Saskatchewan

ASHAM National Coaching Awards
(voted by the coaches)

Women – Pat Quilty, Prince Edward Island
Men – Paul Tardi B.C.

Joan Mead Legacy Awards
(selected by the event officials)
($500 scholarship)

Women – Michelle Taylor, Newfoundland/Labrador
Men – Brooks Roche, Prince Edward Island

Click to read at Curling Canada

Comments are closed.