Subway AUS ch’ships start Thurs. in Truro. Sabrina Smith, Christopher Gallant skipping UPEI rinks

The 2017 Subway Atlantic University Sports (AUS) Curling Championships take place February 9-12 at the Truro Curling Club, with seven women’s and an equal number of men’s teams taking part.

Team UPEI Men is skipped by Christopher Gallant, and includes Kyle Holland, Alex MacFadyen, and Brooks Roche with coach Peter Gallant, while Team UPEI Women, skipped by Sabrina Smith, includes Meghan Ching, Breanne Burgoyne, and Annika Kelly, and is coached by Paul Smith. Islander Alex Sutherland is playing on Team UNB Men, with PEI’s Lauren MacFadyen playing for the StFX women’s rink.

There will be a full round robin for both genders and then the top 4 teams will advance to the playoffs.  All round robin games will be 8 ends, while playoff games (semi-finals, gold and bronze games) will be 10 ends.  This year the top 3 teams for each gender (it’s normally two) will represent the AUS at the U Sports / Curling Canada University Championships, hosted by the Lakehead University Thunderwolves, March 18-22 at the Fort William Curling Club in Thunder Bay Ont.

Live scores will available for the Atlantic championships  at the Curling Canada website BellAliant will be web streaming some of the draws, including the semi-finals and finals on Sunday.  Only games on sheets 2 and 3 will be live streamed.


2017 Subway AUS Curling Championships Draw and Schedule  
 Blue=Men’s   Truro Curling Club, Truro, NS  
  Draw Time Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4 Ice 5 * all athletes must provide a valid government or university photo ID
Thursday, February 9th  
Team Meeting 10:30 AM All teams competing in Draw #1 must be present – Team Meeting with Head Umpire
Draw #1 11:30 AM St. FX   vs. UPEI Dal vs. Acadia SMU vs. UNB UNB vs. UPEI St. FX vs. Dal * teams listed first throw red rocks and practice first
Team Meeting 2:00 PM All teams competing in Draw #2 must be present – Team Meeting with Head Umpire
Opening Ceremony 2:30 PM All teams must be present – Opening Ceremony * all Round Robin games are 8 ends
Draw #2 3:30 PM UPEI vs. SMU MUN vs. Dal Mount A. vs. St. FX MUN vs. St. FX UNB vs. Acadia
Team Social 6:00 PM Team Social for athletes and coaches hosted by the AUS – Truro Curling Club  
Friday, February 10th      
Draw #3 9:00 AM MUN vs. St. FX MUN vs. UPEI Acadia vs. St. FX SMU vs. Dal    
Draw #4 12:30 PM Dal vs. UNB UNB vs. SMU Dal vs. UPEI Mount A. vs. MUN    
Draw #5 4:00 PM Mount A. vs. UNB St. FX vs. UNB UPEI vs. Dal Acadia vs. SMU    
Draw #6 7:30 PM SMU vs. MUN UPEI vs. St. FX SMU vs. MUN Dal vs. Mount A.    
Saturday, February 11th      
Draw #7 9:00 AM MUN vs. Dal Dal vs. UNB UPEI vs. Mount A. St. FX vs. SMU    
Draw #8 12:30 PM UNB vs. MUN Acadia vs. MUN St. FX vs. SMU UNB vs. UPEI    
Draw #9 4:00 PM UPEI vs. Acadia SMU vs. Mount A. St. FX vs. UNB MUN vs. UPEI    
Draw #10 7:30 PM SMU vs. Dal UPEI vs. SMU UNB vs. MUN Dal vs. St. FX    
Sunday, February 12th       
Semi-Finals 9:00 AM Women’s Semi-Final Men’s Semi-Final Women’s Semi-Final Men’s Semi-Final   * all Playoff games are 10 ends
Championship Finals – Gold and Bronze 1:00 PM Men’s Bronze Women’s Gold Men’s Gold Women’s Bronze  
Closing Ceremony 3:30 PM    
2017 Subway AUS Curling Championships Team Rosters
Women’s Teams   Men’s Teams
Dalhousie University   Acadia University
Skip – Kristin Clarke   Skip – Sam Byers
Karlee Burgess   Gordon McLaughlin
Alicia Brine   Harrison Paul
Lauren Chase   Andrew Davis
Raquel Bachman    
Coach – Brian Rafuse   Coach – Tony Stirling
Memorial University of Newfoundland   Dalhousie University
Skip – Rebecca Roberts   Skip – Robert Mayhew
Sarah Ford   Matthew Manuel
Jessica Fleming   Michael Brophy
Stephanie Nadeau   Nicholas Zachernuk
    Matt Jackson
Coach – Wallace Gregory   Coach – John Newhook
Mount Allison University   Memorial University of Newfoundland
Skip – Krista Nix   Skip – Adam Boland
Julia Hunter   Stephen Trickett
Emma LeBlanc   Zach Young
Sarah Doak   Evan Kearley
Coach – Jim Nix   Coach – Gary Ryan
St. Francis Xavier University   St. Francis Xavier University
Skip – Emma Logan   Skip – Josh Henderson
Lauren MacFadyen   David Quinn
Ashley Francis   Kyle Walker
Therese McCurdy   Brandon McLellan
Sarah Snair   Tyson Collier
Coach – Carolyn Rose   Coach – Peter Beaton
Saint Mary’s University   Saint Mary’s University
Skip – Emily Manuel   Skip – Adam Cocks
Julie Carson   Herman Suther
Taylor Fulmore   Greg Rafuse
Lauren Pellerine   Scott Graham
Megan Hodnett   Glen-Ryan Walters
Coach – Bill Fletcher   Coach – Bill Fletcher/Stu Cameron
University of New Brunswick   University of New Brunswick
Skip – Justine Comeau   Skip – Alex Robichaud
Cathlia Ward   Chris Wagner
Jamie Ward   Trevor Crouse
Katie Forward   Alex Sutherland
    Evan MacKnight
Coach – Tim Comeau   Coach – Lindsey MacKnight
University of Prince Edward Island   University of Prince Edward Island
Skip – Sabrina Smith   Skip – Christopher Gallant
Meghan Ching   Kyle Holland
Breanne Burgoyne   Alex MacFadyen
Annika Kelly   Brooks Roche
Coach – Paul Smith   Coach – Peter Gallant

Comments are closed.