Provincial stick curling titles to be decided Thursday (Journal Pioneer)

(by Eric McCarthy)
Teams in the Women’s Division of the Ferguson-Logan Montague Funeral Home P.E.I. stick curling championships at the Western Community Curling Club have one game to go in their double round-robin preliminary round.

Audrey Callaghan delivers a stone during the provincial stick curling championships in Alberton on Wednesday. – Eric McCarthy

There are four teams in the Women’s Division, and defending-champions Gloria Clarke and Ruth Stavert are tied for first place with Cornwall clubmates Etta Reid and Elaine Hughes after two days of play. Both teams have 4-1 (won-lost) records while Ann Barwise (Maple Leaf) and Audrey Callaghan (Western) have secured the third and final playoff spot at 2-3. They finish off round-robin play against the defending champions Thursday at 11:15 a.m.

The women’s double round-robin winner will earn a bye to Thursday’s championship final at 4 p.m. The second- and third-place teams will meet at 2 p.m. for the right to play the first-place winner in the final.

Open Division
After single round-robin pool play, teams from the host Western Community Curling Club captured four of the six playoff positions.
Defending-champions Walter Callaghan and John Vincent won Pool A with a 5-0 record, followed by Floyd Stewart and Gordon MacDonald from Montague at 4-1 and Western’s Victor and Dianne Hogan at 3-2.
In Pool B, Winston Keough and Harvey Holm from Western were awarded first place after going 4-1. Barry Craswell and Sterling Stratton from Cornwall took second, also with a 4-1 record, and Roger Gavin and Eddie Bernard from Western finished third with a 3-2 summary.
The men’s playoffs start at 10 a.m., with Pool B’s second-place team of Craswell and Stratton playing third in Pool A, the Hogans, and Pool B’s third-place team of Bernard and Gavin facing Pool A’s second-place team of Stewart and MacDonald. The first-place winners get a bye.
Callaghan and Vincent will play the winner of the Craswell/Stratton vs. Hogans in one semifinal, and Keough and Holm will play the other quarter-final winner in the 2 p.m. semifinals The championship game goes at 4 p.m.
Click for full story in the Journal Pioneer

Comments are closed.