Pepsi Provincial Juniors (Under 21) Curling Ch’ship 2015-2016 season


The Pepsi Provincial Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, for curlers twenty years of age or under as of and including June 30 2015, took place at the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton, December 27-31 2015, with five junior men’s rinks, and four junior women’s teams signed up.

The winning Katie Fullerton and Matthew MacLean teams advance to the 2016 Canadian Juniors, January 23-31, 2016 in Stratford, Ontario (Website).

Katir Fullerton

Photo (l-r):

Katie Fullerton (skip)

Chloé McCloskey (third)

Sabrina Smith (second)

Aleya Quilty (lead)

Bill Hope (coach)

Matthew MacLean

Photo (l-r)

Matt MacLean (skip)

Alan MacLean (third)

Noah O’Connor (second)

Jordan MacLean (lead)

Glen MacLean (coach)

Live results from the provincial championship will be available at:
Click for previous winners and websites

Fullerton team members win 4th consecutive prov. jr. women’s ch’ship (Journal)

ALBERTON (by Eric McCarthy)– Three members of the Katie Fullerton rink are heading to their fourth consecutive Canadian junior women’s curling championship.


© Eric McCarthy/Journal Pioneer

Chloe McCloskey, left, and Aleya Quilty sweep a Sabrina Smith rock for the Katie Fullerton rink during play at the Pepsi provincial junior women’s curling championship in Alberton on Tuesday.

Fullerton beat Lauren Lenentine, also of the Cornwall Curling Club, 9-5 at the Western Community Curling Club on Tuesday night to sweep the modified triple-knockout format in the Pepsi provincial junior women’s curling championship at 4-0 (won-lost).

Lenentine finished 3-3, with all three losses coming in the A, B, and C qualifiers to Fullerton.



Tuesday night, Fullerton took a 6-3 lead with a five-ender in six, and then sealed the deal when Chloe McCloskey, who throws skip stones, hit and stuck for three with the final rock in nine.

“We all wanted it just as bad; it’s just as great as our first nationals,” commented Fullerton. “We were really determined to succeed, and we worked together.”

They will represent P.E.I. at nationals in Stratford, Ont. from Jan. 23 to 31.

Click for full story in the Journal Pioneer.

MacLean rink beats defending champ in exciting Pepsi Jr. Men’s final (Journal)

(by Eric McCarthy)

ALBERTON – After delivering the final stone of his P.E.I. junior competitive curling career, Matthew MacLean calmly slid down the ice.


Skip Matthew MacLean watches as his sweepers, Jordan MacLean, left, and Noah O’Connor, take charge of his rock. Team MacLean, which also includes Matthew’s brother, Allan, at third stone, dethroned the defending-champion Tyler Smith rink in Alberton early Wednesday evening to win its first-ever P.E.I. Pepsi junior men’s curling championship.

It was a takeout attempt and, if successful, would give him his first Pepsi provincial curling championship.
MacLean calmly removed Tyler Smith’s rock and stayed for two points for a 6-3 win.As Smith’s shot stone was being cleared from the rings, MacLean raised his broom shoulder high, hardly the type of enthusiasm one might expect from someone who has been chasing the provincial title for five years.His brother, Allan, who plays third stone, has been part of all his provincial championships. This is lead stone Jordan MacLean’s second year with MacLean, and the third year for second stone Noah O’Connor.Team MacLean will represent P.E.I. at the national championship in Stratford, Ont., from Jan. 23 to 31.

His father, Glen, is the team coach and his mother, Glenda, is their manager.

Team MacLean is from the Maple Leaf and Cornwall Curling Clubs.

Individual awards

Lauren Lenentine, skip of the women’s runner-up rink from Cornwall, and Kyle Holland, who threw third stones on Alex MacFadyen’s third-place men’s rink from Silver Fox and Charlottetown, received sportsmanship awards.

Bill Hope and Roger Gavin were the recipients of the Asham coaching awards. Hope coaches the women’s champions, Katie Fullerton rink, and Gavin is the coach of the Leslie Noye team from the Western Community Curling Club.

Click to read full story in the Journal Pioneer


Draw and Schedule
(not updated during event – refer to Curlcast scoring)Screenshot_2015-12-18-17-30-41~3 

Team Rosters

Junior Men

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Alt. Coach Club
Alex MacFadyen Kyle Holland Matthew MacDonald Parker MacFadyen David MacFadyen Silver Fox, Ch’town
Matthew MacLean Alan MacLean Noah O\’Connor Jordan MacLean Glen MacLean Maple Leaf/  Cornwall
Leslie Noye Jacob Wilkins Dylan Vincent Alex Gallant Roger Gavin Western Community
Devin Schut Owen Collier Tyler Garnhum Alec Huestis Mitchell Schut David Parker Cornwall
Tyler Smith Brooks Roche Dylan Lowery Ryan Lowery Kevin Smith Crapaud/ Montague

Junior Women

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coach Club
Alyssa Wright Kaleigh Peters Tegan Corkum Lauren Ferguson Jamie Newson Crapaud/ Montague
Katie Fullerton (3rd) Chloe McCloskey (4th) Sabrina Smith Aleya
Bill Hope Cornwall Curling Club
Lauren Lenentine Kaleigh Mackay Breanne Burgoyne Rachel O’Connor Pat Quilty Cornwall Curling Club
Lauren Moerike Kristie Rogers Annika Kelly Tati Kelly Angela Hodgson Cornwall Curling Club

Diet Pepsi