2016 PEI Provincial Mixed Fours Curling Championship


Live Results


Click for Scoreboard

Veronica Smith rink wins Atelka PEI Mixed (Fours) Ch’ship (pictures added)

The Veronica Smith rink from Crapaud and Cornwall beat Charlottetown’s Jamie Newson team by a 9-4 score in this afternoon’s championship game at the Atelka Provincial Mixed (Fours) Curling Championship at the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton. Smith won her second modified triple knockout section final this morning, 8-2 over Newson, stealing two singles and a deuce in the C final. She also won the B section over Newson on Sunday afternoon by a 7-6 score, while Newson won the A, 8-5 over Smith on Saturday.

2016mixedveronicasmithPhoto (L-R): David Benjamin, representing sponsor Atelka, Veronica Smith, Tyler Smith, Sabrina Smith, Dylan Lowery, Curl PEI representative Andrew Robinson

Winning two sections meant that Smith had two chances to win the final, while Newson would have had to win 2 games straight. Had she lost this afternoon, a deciding game between the two teams would have been played on Tuesday.

In the final, Smith got off to a fast start with a triple in the first end. Newson came back with a double in end two, but Smith took a pair of singles and a deuce in the next 3 ends for a 6-2 lead after 5 ends. The teams traded deuces in six and seven, but Newson couldn’t catch up.

2016mixedrunnerupjamienewsonPhoto (L-R): David Benjamin, representing sponsor Atelka, Jamie Newson, Vanessa Hamming. Tyler Harris, Miranda Ellis

The winning Smith team includes third Tyler Smith, second stone Sabrina Smith, and lead Dylan Lowery, while Vanessa Hamming, Tyler Harris, and Miranda Ellis round out the runner-up Newson foursome. Veronica and Sabrina Smith are sisters, while Tyler is not related.

Team Veronica Smith will now advance to the 2017 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship, Nov. 14-19, 2016, at the Mariners Centre in Yarmouth, NS. The Mixed Fours are the traditional 4 person competition, while the Mixed Doubles is the newer 2 person format, which has a separate championship.

Draw and Schedule


Team Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Club
Cody Dixon Danielle Collings Ryan Lowery Alyssa Wright Montague, Crapaud
Sharon Horne (3rd) Leslie Noye (4th) Jacob Wilkins Alison Griffin Western Community Curling Club
Jody Jackson Lisa Jackson Jamie Jackson Jodi Murphy Charlottetown Curling Complex
Tyler MacKenzie Chloé McCloskey Sean Clarey Megan Wile Charlottetown Curling Complex
Ian MacMillan Bobbi- Jean MacMillan- Boylan Devon O’Brien Iva Griffin Western Community Curling Club
Paul Morrison Lynn Anne Brousseau Philip MacDonald Gaylene Nicholson Montague Curling Rink
Jamie Newson Vanessa Hamming Tyler Harris Miranda Ellis Charlottetown, Crapaud
Larry Richards Darlene London Steven MacLeod Gail Greene Montague Curling Complex
Veronica Smith Tyler Smith Sabrina Smith Dylan Lowery Crapaud, Cornwall


Click for previous years’ Mixed websites and winners