2020 PEI Mixed (Fours) Ch’ship

Click for end by end results

Jamie Newson rink wins third consecutive PEI Mixed Championship

It’s a “three-peat” for the Jamie Newson rink from the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside, capturing their third consecutive PEI Mixed Curling Championship, edging Crapaud’s Nick Blanchard team 7-6 this afternoon at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary.

L-R: PEI Mixed winners Jamie Newson, Melissa Morrow, Andrew MacDougall, Miranda Ellis

Blanchard won the first of three triple-knockout section qualifiers in the event, while Newson captured the next two, and the first of two possible championship games. Had Blanchard won the game, there would have been a sudden death game Monday evening, but a win in the first match gave Newson the title.

(L-R): PEI Mixed Finalists Nick Blanchard, Stephanie Schnare, Jamie Stride, Terri Wood, with Bill Smith, Curl PEI Treasurer

Blanchard led the game 4-3 at the fourth end break, but a pair of Newson deuces gave him a 7-4 lead. Blanchard was kept to singles in ends seven and eight, giving Newson the 7-6 win, and a return trip to the Canadian Mixed Championship, to be held Nov. 7-15 at the Canmore Golf and Curling Club in Alberta.

Nine teams representing five curling clubs took part in the PEI Mixed Championship.

Nine teams competing in O’Leary for 2020 PEI Mixed (fours) title

The Curl PEI Provincial Mixed (fours) Curling Championship will take place Feb. 21-24 2020 at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary, with nine teams representing five curling clubs taking part.

The two-time defending champion Jamie Newson team from the Silver Fox Curling Club, and the Charlottetown Curling Club’s Tyler MacKenzie rink, who were finalists the last two years, are back this year, along with the Alex MacFadyen squad from Charlottetown, the Chase MacMillan and Lauren Ferguson junior teams from Cornwall, the Nick Blanchard foursome from Crapaud, and the George Koke, Philip MacDonald, and Larry Richards teams from Montague.

The nine rinks will play a modified triple knockout draw, with the winners of each section advancing to a two-game championship round. Winners from each section drop down to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three draw sections, they will be declared champions, and the championship round will not be played. A team winning two sections will advance to both championship games and take the championship if they win either game, will their opponent would have to win both sections.

The winning team will advance to the 2021 Canadian Mixed Championship, Nov. 7-15, 2020, at the Canmore Golf and Curling Club in Alberta.

 Photo (L-R): 2019 PEI Mixed Winners Jamie Newson, Melissa Morrow, Andrew MacDougall, Miranda Ellis, along with Larry Richards from the Montague Curling Rink, hosts last year.

Click for previous years’ Mixed websites and winners


(Modified Triple Knockout format with 2 game ch’ship round, if required.)




DateTimeDrawIce 1 Ice 2Ice 3Ice 4
Feb. 212 pm11234
6 pm27 65
Feb. 2210 am3 1089
2 pm412111413
6 pm516181715
Feb. 2310 am62119 20
2 pm722 23 
6 pm8 24  
Feb. 242 pm9  A 
6 pm10 B  

Explanation for A and B:

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers. They play in both A and B (and win the event if they win either game), the other section winner plays in A and has to win to advance to B.

3. If there are three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* advances to B and the other winners play off in A. If there is a tie in the number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to B and the other two teams play off in A.

*Qualifying games are in yellow on the schedule.

Team Rosters 

(Click on link for players)

Team BlanchardTammy DewarCrapaud Community Curling ClubCrapaud, PEI
Team Ferguson Cornwall Curling ClubCornwall, PEI
Team Koke Montague Curling ClubMontague, PEI
Team MacDonald Montague Curling ClubMontague, PEI
Team MacFadyen Charlottetown Curling ClubCharlottetown, PEI
Team MacKenziePat QuiltyCharlottetown Curling ClubCharlottetown, PEI
Team MacMillanDavid MacFadyenCornwall Curling ClubCornwall, PEI
Team Newson Silver Fox Curling ClubSummerside, PEI
Team Richards Montague Curling ClubMontague, PEI