2021 PEI Mixed (Fours) Ch’ship


This event has been cancelled.

Jamie Newson rink seeking fourth consecutive PEI Mixed Curling Title

Nine teams, including the three-time defending champion Jamie Newson rink from the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside, are competing in the PEI Mixed Curling Championship at the Montague Curling Club, from February 26 to March 1st. The Newson rink has added Veronica Smith to their team as third stone, with Melissa Morrow now serving as alternate. Smith was skip for the winning PEI Mixed team in 2016.

Other teams entered include the Nick Blanchard team who were finalists last year, a team skipped by Robbie Doherty, a 2011 Canadian Mixed champ at second stone, along with the Chase MacMillan junior-age rink, and the Ed White team from Summerside, containing the winners and finalists from this season’s PEI Mixed Doubles championship. The host club is represented by the Philip and Shane MacDonald rinks and the Shane MacClure foursome, while Tyler MacKenzie, who skipped finalist teams in this event in 2017, 2018 and 2019, is also entered.

L-R: 2020 PEI Mixed winners Jamie Newson, Melissa Morrow, Andrew MacDougall, Miranda Ellis

The nine rinks will play a modified triple knockout draw, with the winners of each section advancing to a two-game championship round. Winners from each section drop down to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three draw sections, they will be declared champions, and the championship round will not be played. A team winning two sections will advance to both championship games and take the championship if they win either game, while their opponent would have to win both sections.

The winning team will advance to the Canadian Mixed Championship, Nov. 7-14, 2021, at the Canmore Golf and Curling Club in Alberta. 

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, no spectators are permitted at this event.

Live end-by-end results from the Provincial Mixed will be available at PEICurling.com/scoreboard

Click for previous years’ Mixed websites and winners


(Modified Triple Knockout format with 2 game ch’ship round, if required.)


Date Time Draw Ice 1  Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Feb. 26 2 pm 1 1 2 3 4
6 pm 2 7   6 5
Feb. 27 10 am 3   10 8 9
2 pm 4 12 11 14 13
6 pm 5 16 18 17 15
Feb. 28 10 am 6 21 19   20
2 pm 7 22   23  
6 pm 8   24    
Mar. 1 10 am 9     A  
2 pm 10   B    

Explanation for A and B:

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers. They play in both A and B (and win the event if they win either game), the other section winner plays in A and has to win to advance to B.

3. If there are three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* advances to B and the other winners play off in A. If there is a tie in the number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to B and the other two teams play off in A.

*Qualifying games are in yellow on the schedule.

Team Rosters 

Team name: Blanchard
Skip: Nick Blanchard
Third: Stephanie Schnare
Second: Jamie Stride
Lead: Terri Wood
Coach’s Name: Tammy Dewar
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club
Team name: Doherty
Skip: Robbie Doherty
Third: Amanda Power
Second: Brooks Roche
Lead: Breanne Burgoyne
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Skip name: MacClure
Skip: Shane MacClure
Third: Erin MacDougall
Second: Paul Deveau
Lead: Gaylene Nickleson
Alternate: Cara Eastman
Club: Montague Curling Club
Team name: P. MacDonald
Skip: Philip MacDonald
Third: Robyn MacDonald
Second: Thomas Annear
Lead: Shelley Rice
Club: Montague Curling Club
Team name: S. MacDonald
Skip: Shane MacDonald
Third: Darlene London
Second: Robert Campbell
Lead: Gail Greene
Club: Montague Curling Club
Team name: MacKenzie
Skip: Tyler MacKenzie
Third: Aleya Quilty
Second: Rob Reddin
Lead: Jodi Murphy
Coach: Pat Quilty
Club: Charlottetown Curling Club
Team name: MacMillan
Skip: Chase MacMillan
Third: Rachel MacLean
Second: Mitchell Schut
Lead: Sydney Howatt
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
‘Team name: Newson
Skip: Jamie Newson
Third: Veronica Smith
Second: Andrew MacDougall
Lead: Miranda Ellis
Alternate: Melissa Morrow
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club
Team name: White
Skip: Edward White
Third: Jenny White
Second: Alex MacFadyen
Lead: Lauren MacFadyen
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club