Credit Unions of PEI

World Financial Group Canadian Seniors, March 19-26, 2011
Digby NS

Provincial Seniors Curling Championships

February 10-14, 2011, Maple Leaf Curling Club, O'Leary (Men's), Crapaud Community Curling Club (Women's)


Men's Event Women's Event Teams

Bill Hope rink sweeps Senior Men's Championship
June Moyaert team wins Senior Women's title

Feb. 14-The June Moyaert rink from the Montague Curling Club unseated the two-time defending champion Shirley Berry foursome from the Cornwall and Charlottetown  curling clubs to become the new Credit Unions of PEI provincial women’s curling champions this evening at the Crapaud Community Curling Club. Moyaert, and her team of third Sherren MacKinnon, second Terri Thompson, and lead Kathy Clarey came out shooting in the sudden death final, following an opening end triple with steals of two, four, and three points to lead 12-0 after four ends. Berry, and her team of Sandy Hope, Shelley Ebbett, and Arleen Harris, with coaches Butch McGee and newly-crowned Senior Men’s champion skip Bill Hope, came back with a deuce and two single steals, but it was handshake time in the eighth end, with a final score of 12-4.

Moyaert rink

Photo (L-R); June Moyaert, Sherren MacKinnon, Terri Thompson, Kathy Clarey

Moyaert, a 1988 provincial women’s champion, won the B and C sections of the triple knockout competition, both over Berry, while Berry won the A (over Karen Anne MacDonald of Charlottetown) , could have won the championship with a win in either of the two championship round games today, but Berry forced this evening’s game with a  7-3 win this afternoon.

The winning Moyaert rink will join the Senior Men’s champions, the Bill Hope foursome, who went undefeated in their event,  at the World Financial Group Canadian Seniors, March 19-26 in Digby NS. Eight men’s and an equal number of women’s teams took part in this year’s PEI Seniors championships, for curlers age 50 and over.  The men’s event was held at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary.

Hope rink 2011 Senior Men's champs
Photo (L-R): John Mullin, David Murphy, Craig Mackie, Bill Hope

 Feb. 13-The Charlottetown and Cornwall Curling Club rink of Bill Hope, Craig Mackie, John Mullin, and David Murphy swept all three triple-knockout section finals, all against the Bob Matheson rink from the host Maple Leaf Curling Club in O'Leary, to capture the 2011 Credit Unions of PEI provincial men's curling championships. This afternoon's C final was a low scoring one, with Hope winning 4-3, and, by sweeping all three sections, eliminating the need for a championship round on Monday. Other members of the runner-up Matheson rink are Muncey Harris, Glen Betts, and Wayne Arsenault. Matheson stepped up to skip the rink when the original skip, Clair Sweet, had to drop out, due to the passing of his wife. 

The Hope rink advanced to the C final with a 7-5 win over the Dale Cannon foursome from the Silver Fox, while the Matheson team downed Grant Somers from the Fox 8-2.

The Hope foursome now advance to the World Financial Group Canadian Seniors, March 19-26 in Digby NS. Eight teams took part in the PEI Seniors Championship.

Meanwhile, the Credit Unions of PEI provincial women's championship at the Crapaud Community Curling Club  is down to the championship round, scheduled for 1 and 6 pm on Monday. The June Moyaert foursome from the Montague Curling Club has won both the B and C sections of the eight team triple knockout event, and will win the championship if they take either game, while A section winner and two-time defending champion Shirley Berry and her combined Cornwall and Charlottetown curling club rink would have to win both matches. Playing with Moyaert are Sherren MacKinnon, Terri Thompson, and Kathy Clarey. Rounding out the Berry foursome are Sandy Hope, Shelley Ebbett, and Arleen Harris.

Moyaert won this afternoon's C final against Berry in convincing fashion, following a first end single with a stolen triple and a single in the next two ends, and a triple in the fifth. Berry's two single points were in the fourth and sixth ends.  A Moyaert double in the seventh brought the game to an early conclusion with a 10-2 final score.

Berry edged Cornwall clubmate Debbie Rhodenhizer 9-8 this morning to advance to the C final. Rhodenhizer got off to a quick start in that game with a four point first end, but Berry recovered quickly, to lead 6-4 at the half. Moyaert was trailing Summerside's Nola Murphy 6-4 after seven ends in her C semi-final this morning, but pulled ahead with five points in the eighth. Murphy came back with one in the ninth and tied the game with a 10th end deuce. Moyaert scored a single point with hammer in the extra end to win 10-9.

The winning rink from Monday's championship round will advance to the World Financial Group Canadian Seniors, March 19-26 in Digby NS.

Click for Men's Schedule, Draw, and Results       Click for Women's Schedule, Draw, and Results

Team Rosters

Senior Men

Skip Third Second Lead Club
Mel Bernard Ted MacFadyen Douglas Simmons Earle Proude Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Barry Cameron Paul Matheson Dwane MacNeill Jim Arsenault Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Dale Cannon Mark LeClair Dave Riley Bruce Montgomery Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Rod Mac Donald Peter Gallant Tom Fetterly Doug Mac Gregor Silver Fox/Charlottetown CC
John Holmes Steve Bent Roger Elliott George Power Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Bill Hope Craig Mackie John Mullin David Murphy Charlottetown CC/ Cornwall CC
Grant Somers Lou Nowlan (throws 2nd) Blair Jay (throws 3rd) Roland Richard Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Bob Matheson Muncey Harris Glen Betts Wayne Arsenault Maple Leaf Curling Club

Senior Women

Skip Vice-skip/Mate/Third Second Lead Coach Club
Paula Baglole Debbie MacMurdo Heather Bernard Jeanne Duffenais   Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Shirley Berry Sandy Hope Shelly Ebbett Arleen Harris Butch McGee, Bill Hope Cornwall/Charlottetown CC
Sheila Compton Louise Sabean Marilyn Waugh Susan Cole   Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Karen Currie Valerie Acorn Bea Graham Joanne MacDonald Kathie Gallant Cornwall Curling Club
Karen Anne MacDonald Paula Creamer Yvonne Campbell Karen Hardy   Charlottetown Curling Club
June Moyaert Sherren MacKinnon Terri Thompson Kathy Clarey   Montague Curling Club
Nola Murphy Nancy MacFadyen Danielle Girard Doreen Gunn   Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Debbie Rhodenhizer Diane MacKay Cindy Nicholson Debby Sigsworth   Cornwall Curling Club
Contact us

Page last updated: 


Menu: Top Men's Women's Teams