Curler Jerry Muzika among PEI Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

Jerry Muzika of Charlottetown is among four upcoming inductees into the PEI Sports Hall of Fame.

Charlottetown’s Jerry Muzika has had a distinguished career in curling, one which has seen him become a member of the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame, to which he was inducted in 1989 in the builder category.

A fine player in his own right, Jerry had three trips to nationals, including a trip to the Brier with Bob Dillon in 1974, and two Senior Championships in 1990 and 1993. It was as an administrator however that he has made the most contribution – starting with positions at the Charlottetown Curling Club, he worked his way up to become provincial president, before taking on important roles with the national body.

From 1982 to 1988 Jerry held most of the key positions in Canadian curling, including that of President from 1986/87. He also served on many organizing committees on major events, and in addition he has played an important role with the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame and Museum, serving three terms as president.

Muzika’s passion for the history of the sport has seen him chronicle the story of curling in the province, and he achieved his ambition of setting up the P.E.I Curling Hall of Fame, with the first inductions taking place in 2007.

A life member of both the Charlottetown Club and the Canadian Curling Association, Muzika received one of the sport’s highest honours in 2003 when he was inducted into the Governor General’s Curling Club, recognizing those who have contributed to the growth and promotion of curling in Canada and elsewhere.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside on Sept. 20. beginning at 7 pm. Tickets at $10 each are available from both the Silver Fox in Summerside, and Sport P.E.I. in Charlottetown (phone 368-4547).

Other inductees will include legendary Mi’kmaq distance runner John Paul, who raced for almost three decades, hockey builder and coach John (Jake) Milford, the only Island born member of the Hockey Hall of Fame, and Earl Ross, the only Canadian to win a NASCAR Winston Cup race.

Comments are closed.