Sylvan Learning 17 and Under starts this afternoon in O’Leary

The Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary is the location for the 2011 Sylvan Learning Provincial 17 and Under Curling Championship. Six age 17 and under men’s and five women’s teams are entered. Teams play a triple knockout format, beginning on Friday, and wrapping up Sunday, with the section winners advancing to a two game championship round on Monday. In the event a team wins all three triple knockout sections, they will be declared champion without the championship round. A team winning two sections would take the championship if they won either championship game, while the opposing team would have to win both.

Draws go Friday at 4 and 8 pm, Saturday and Sunday at 9 am and 1 and 5 pm. The championship round is scheduled for Monday at 9 am and 1 pm.

Last year’s champions, the Tiffany Sweet and Matthew MacLean rinks, are both from this year’s host club. MacLean is back this year, but Sweet is now out of the age category.

The 2011 winning rinks will advance to the Sylvan Learning Atlantic 17 and Under Championships, April 15-17 at the Charlottetown Curling Club.

Here are the opening draws:

Friday February 4 at 4 pm

Ice 1 (Junior women)
Megan Davies (Ch’town) vs Carolyn Rose (MontagueP
Ice  2 (Junior men)
Alex MacFadyen (Silver Fox) vs Daniel McCarthy (Western/Charlottetown)
Ice 3 (Junior Women)
Jenny McLean (Silver Fox) vs Veronica Smith (Cornwall)
Ice 4 (Junior men)
Jeffrey Taylor (C0rnwall) vs Matthew MacLean (Maple Leaf)

Friday February 4 at 8 pm

Ice 1 (Junior men)
Alex Matters vs winner MacFadyen/McCarthy game
Ice 2 (Junior men)
Tyler Smith vs winner Taylor/MacLean game
Ice 3 (Junior women)
Amanda MacLean vs winner Davies/Rose game
Ice 4 (Junior women)
Loser Davies/Rose vs loser McLean/Smith

Full draw and end by end results at

Comments are closed.