Matthew MacLean rink wins 17 and Under Men’s section


Photo (L-R): Glen MacLean (coach), Matthew MacLean, Marshall Smallman, Kevin Gallant, Allan MacLean, David O’Connor (Sponsor)

The Matthew MacLean rink from the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary will join the Veronica Smith foursome from the Cornwall Curling Club as this year’s O’Connor Glass Provincial age 17 and Under curling champions. The MacLean team, which includes third Marshall Smallman, second Kevin Gallant, and lead Alan MacLean, with coach Glen MacLean, beat the Tony Nabuurs team from Montague by a 5-3 score in this morning’s final at the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside. Other members of the runner-up Nabuurs rink are Parker O’Connor, who throws 4th stones for the team, second Noah O’Connor, and lead Tyler Smith, with coach Arnold Nabuurs. Both rinks finished double round robin play with identical 5-1 win-loss records, with Nabuurs winning their first encounter 6-4, and MacLean taking the second 6-1.

On Sunday, the Smith rink went undefeated with a 7-0 win-loss record to win the women’s title. The Jenny McLean rink from the host Silver Fox club, with a 4-3 record, were the runners-up, with Smith beating them in the best two out of three final round by 5-4 and 10-1 scores to take the championship.

Other members of the winning Smith rink are Katie Fullerton, who holds the broom for the skip, but throws first stones, along with second Sabrina Smith, and Chloe McCloskey, who throws third stones. The rink is coached by Paul Smith. The runner-up McLean team includes third Aleya Quilty, second stone Lauren MacFadyen, lead Ava Whitney-Coulter, and coaches Pat Quilty and Sheila Compton.

The MacLean and Smith teams now advance to the Atlantic Under 18 Curling Championships, April 6-8 at the Bluenose Curling Club in New Glasgow NS.

Four men’s and six women’s teams took part in this year’s provincial championship.

Comments are closed.