Nova Scotia rinks skipped by Peter Burgess and Heather Smith-Dacey win Curl Atlantic Ch’ship

The third annual Curl Atlantic Championship, the first to be held on PEI, wrapped up this afternoon at the MacLauchlan arena of the CARI Complex in Charlottetown, with Nova Scotia rinks skipped by Peter Burgess and Heather Smith-Dacey winning the men’s and women’s titles and cash awards in this season-opening event.

The Smith-Dacey rink are the only team in the event to go undefeated, edging PEI’s Suzanne Birt foursome 6-5 in an extra end in their final round robin game on Saturday night, to advance to the semi-final round against PEI’s Kathy O’Rourke team, winning 7-3 to advance to the final against Birt. The Nova Scotia rink won this afternoon’s final by a 7-4 score, taking a deuce in the seventh end, and stealing a single in the eighth. Birt, whose only round robin loss was to Smith-Dacey, got by defending champion Stacie Devereaux by an 8-7 score in her semi-final.


Curl Atlantic Photo (L-R): Teri Lake, Blisse Joyce, Jill Brothers, Heather Smith-Dacey

Other members of the winning Smith-Dacey rink are third Jill Brothers, second Blisse Joyce, and lead Teri Lake, while Shelly Bradley, Michelle McQuaid, and Susan McInnis, with coach Peter Gallant, round out the runner-up Birt team.


Photo (L-R): Todd Burgess, Jared Bent, Craig Burgess, Peter Burgess, Official Cliff Poirier  (Emily Gray photo)

Burgess, playing with third Craig Burgess, second:Jared Bent, and lead Todd Burgess, beat New Brunswick’s James Grattan team, which includes third Jason Roach, second Darren Roach, and lead Josh Barry, by a 6-3 score in this afternoon’s final, aided by a triple in the sixth end. It was Grattan’s first lost in the event.The Burgess rink beat another Nova Scotia team, skipped by Chad Stevens, 8-6 in the semi-final. They had handed Burgess his only defeat, 6-2 on Friday morning in round-robin play.

The other two PEI men’s teams in the event did not advance to the championship round. Rod MacDonald ended round robin play with a 2-3 win-loss record, while Jamie Newson finished at 1-4, and reigning PEI Tankard champ Eddie MacKenzie did not manage to pick up a win in five starts, losing three of those games by a single point.

The Curl Atlantic Championship, which features 24 of Atlantic Canada best teams, 12 men’s and 12 women’s, will be back at CARI for 2014 and 2015, with an option for 2016 as well.

Comments are closed.