V Smith vs DiCarlo, T Smith vs MacLean in Pepsi Jr. B section qualifiers at 7 pm

The B section qualifier games at the Pepsi Provincial Junior Curling Championships go tonight at 7 at the Charlottetown Curling Complex. Tyler Smith and his Montague and Crapaud rink beat Cornwall’s Donald DeWolfe team 7-3, while Jane DiCarlo defeated Charlottetown clubmate 10-2 in the B semi-finals this afternoon to advance to the men’s and women’s B qualifier games against A section winners Matthew MacLean from the Cornwall and Maple Leaf clubs and Veronica Smith from Cornwall.

Photo: Tyler Smith

Photo Jane DiCarlo

Two teams — the Lauren Lenentine rink from Cornwall and the Leslie Noye foursome from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton, were eliminated from play this afternoon, with losses in the C flight, to Cornwall’s Jenny McLean and Alex MacFadyen from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club, respectively.

Besides the Smith/DiCarlo and Smith/MacLean games tonight, down in the “must win” C flight, MacFadyen and DeWolfe square off in the men’s section, while McLean takes on Charlottetown’s Lauren Moerike team in the women’s. The C semis go Tuesday at 2 pm, with the C qualifers following at 7.

The two game championship round is scheduled for Wednesday at 9 am and 2 pm. The men’s and women’s winners advance to the M&M Meat Shops Canadian Juniors, January 24 – February 1, 2015 in Cornerbrook NL.

Live results from the Pepsi Juniors at http://curlcast.ca/stats/organizations/1252C_dzWjU/competitions/1339-pepsi-junior-curling-championships-pei/scoreboard



Comments are closed.