Veronica Smith rink wins 3rd straight Pepsi Junior PEI Women’s ch’ship, Tyler Smith plays Matthew MacLean on Wed. for men’s title

The Cornwall Curling Club rink of Veronica Smith, Chloé McCloskey, Sabrina Smith, and Katie Fullerton, with coach Bill Hope, are now three-time winners of the Pepsi Provincial Junior Women’s Curling Championship, going undefeated in this year’s event, and beating the Jane DiCarlo team from the host Charlottetown Curling Complex by a 6-3 score in the C event final this evening. As the Smith team won all three section finals of the modified triple knockout round, all against DiCarlo, the two game championship round on Wednesday is not required, and the Smith team will now advance to the M&M Meat Shops Canadian Juniors, January 24 – February 1, 2015 in Cornerbrook NL.


Photo (L-R): Veronica Smith, Chloé McCloskey, Sabrina Smith, Katie Fullerton, coach Bill Hope

This will be Veronica’s final trip to the Junior Nationals, as she will be out of the age category next year, but her three teammates will still be eligible. Other members of the runner-up DiCarlo foursome are Jessica Watts, Emily Gray, and Megan Wile, with alternate Robyn Wile, and coach Lori Robinson.


Photo: Junior women’s runners up (L-R): Charlottetown Curling Complex President Phillip McInnis, Robyn Wile, Megan Wile, Emily Gray, Jessica Watts, Jane DiCarlo

Photo: Tyler Smith


Meanwhile, Tyler Smith and his rink from the Montague and Crapaud curling clubs doubled the Alex MacFadyen foursome from Summerside’s Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club by an 8-4 score tonight to capture the men’s C event. Smith was ahead 4-3 after five ends, and then stole singles in the next two ends and recorded a deuce in the ninth en route to the win. The Smith rink also won the B section of the modified triple knockout, and will advance to both championship round games on Wednesday, at 9 am and 2 pm, and will win the championship if they take either game. The other team to advance to the championship round, the A section winning Matthew MacLean foursome from the Cornwall Curling Club and O’Leary’s Maple Leaf club must win both games tomorrow in order to win the championship.

Rounding out the Smith team, who are PEI’s Canada Games men’s representatives in February, are Brooks Roche, Dylan Lowery, and Ryan Lowery, with coach Kevin Smith. Completing the MacLean rink are Alan and Jordan MacLean, along with Noah O’Connor and coach Glen MacLean.
Live results from the provincial championship are available at:

Comments are closed.