Provincial Masters Draw Set – play begins Friday Jan. 16 at the Cornwall Curling Club

The draw is now set for the Provincial Masters Curling Championship, for curlers age 60 and over, taking place from January 16-20 at the Cornwall Curling Club.

The  two-team Women’s Division will play a Best of Five series, while the ten-team Men’s section will play a modified triple knockout format, qualifying teams for a two game championship round. If one team wins all three of the triple knockout sections, the championship round will not be required. If a team wins two of the three sections, they will have a “double life” in the championship round, winning the event if they take either game, while their opponent would have to win both. If there are three separate winners, the team who played in the most qualifying teams will receive a bye to the second game. If teams are tied in qualifying games played, the team who qualified first gets the bye.

Here is the Men’s draw:

mastersdraw2Here is the event schedule (Women’s games are in pink and prefaced with “W”, Men’s games are prefaced with “M”)masters2015schedHere are the team rosters:

Masters Men’s Team Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Club
Paul Arsenault Ron Giggey Roy Coffin Edgar Coffin Cornwall Curling Club
Mel Bernard Lou Nowlan Earle Proude Alan Montgomery Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club
Ray Biagé Tom Dunn Frank Weiler Edmond Richard Cornwall Curling Club
Dale Cannon (1st) Blair Jay (4th) Des Arsenault Jim Evans (2nd) Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club
Barry Craswell Bryan Sutherland Paul Fields Alva Clarey Cornwall Curling Club
Bill Hope Craig Mackie David Murphy Bill Doherty Charlottetown/ Cornwall
Bob Maynard Harry Williams Bruce Montgomery Spike Martin Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club
Matt Smith Julien Gaudin Shoji Yamamoto Bill McGuire Charlottetown Curling Complex
Clair Sweet Bob Matheson Muncey Harris Wayne Arsenault Maple Leaf Curling Club
Louis Walsh Doug Waugh Steven Bent Walter Benson Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club

Masters Women’s Team rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coaches #1 Club
Shirley Berry Sandy Hope Shelley Ebbett Arleen Harris Butch McGee, Bill Hope Cornwall/ Charlottetown
Diane MacKay Valerie MacLean Debbie Rhodenhizer Fran Whitlock Cornwall/ Montague

Click for previous Masters championships

Defending champs are the Shirley Berry rink from the host club and Summerside’s Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club, and the Ted MacFadyen team from the Fox. MacFadyen is not back this year, but his three teammates are, skipped by Mel Bernard.

The men’s and women’s winners and runners-up (which will include both women’s teams this year) will earn the right to compete in the Maritime Masters Championships. Dates and venue for this event have not yet been announced. The winning teams, or the highest-finishing men’s and women’s rinks that choose to attend, are invited to participate in the 2015 NVA Hotel Divison Canadian Masters Championships, March 30 to Apr. 5 at the Whitehorse Curling Club in the Yukon.

End by end results from the Provincial Masters will be available at

Event website:

Comments are closed.