PEI’s McCloskey, Fullerton, win Canadian Juniors awards (awards pictures added)

(by Al Cameron and

CORNER BROOK, N.L. — The all-stars and other award winners at the 2015 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships were announced on Friday at the awards banquet at Memorial University’s Grenfell Campus.

Two members of the Veronica Smith-skipped PEI women’s team from the Cornwall Curling Club were among the award recipients, with Katie Fullerton winning the women’s Balance Plus Fair Play Award for the lead position, selected by the officials, while third Chloé McCloskey received the prestigious Joan Mead Legacy Award and $500 scholarship.


CCA Photo (L-R): Joan Mead Legacy Award male winner Alex Cormier, CCA Board of Governors Chair Marilyn Neily, Joan Mead Legacy Award female winner Chloé McCloskey

The Joan Mead Legacy Award, in honour of former CBC curling producer Mead, is selected by the event officials, and is awarded annually to a male and a female junior curler who best exemplify leadership, excellence and fair play, and recognizes community involvement, academic achievement, and volunteerism. Chloé McCloskey is the third player from the Cornwall Curling Club to win this award, with Jonathan Schut winning for the men in 2013 and Michelle McQuaid winning the women’s Joan Mead award in 2010.


CCA photo – Fairplay award winner Katie Fullerton is 4th from right Also in the photo are two officials from PEI – Kay Atkinson (5th from right), and Cliff Poirier (3rd from right)

Fairplay award winner Fullerton was also a winner in 2013, when she took home the second-team all-star berth for the second-best shooting percentage for competitors throwing lead stones.

This is the eleventh-straight year that PEI teams have won awards at this event,

Here is the full list of award winners:

(determined by shooting percentages during the round robin)
First Team

Skip — Kelsey Rocque, Alberta (79 per cent)
Third — Danielle Schmiemann, Alberta (79 per cent)
Second — Brenda Holloway, Ontario (80 per cent)
Lead — Breanne Yozenko, Manitoba (81 per cent)

Second Team
Skip — Chelsea Brandwood, Ontario (75 per cent)
Third — Erin Pincott, British Columbia (76 per cent)
Second —Holly Jamieson, Alberta (77 per cent)
Lead — Sydney Fraser, British Columbia (79 per cent)

First Team
Skip — Karsten Sturmay, Alberta (82 per cent)
Third — Kyle Kurz, Manitoba (82 per cent)
Second — Lucas Van Den Bosch, Manitoba (84 per cent)
Lead — Ryan Freeze, New Brunswick (86 per cent)

Second Team
Skip — Braden Calvert, Manitoba (80 per cent)
Third — Jacob Horgan, Northern Ontario (82 per cent)
Second — Brett Winfield, Alberta (81 per cent)
Lead — Brendan Wilson, Manitoba (84 per cent)
* In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he/she outcurls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.

Ken Watson Sportsmanship Awards
(voted by the players)

Women – Jenn Smith, Nova Scotia
Men – Alex Cormier, Quebec

Balance Plus Fair Play Awards
(selected by the officials)
Lead — Brendan Wilson, Manitoba
Second — Alex MacNeil, New Brunswick
Third — Alex Cormier, Quebec
Skip — Karsten Sturmay, Alberta
Coach — Damien Lahiton, New Brunswick

Lead — Katie Fullerton, Prince Edward Island
Second — Julie Fortin, Quebec
Third — Karly King Simpson, Northwest Territories
Skip — Mary Fay, Nova Scotia
Coach — Rodney Guy, Northern Ontario

ASHAM National Coaching Awards
(voted by the coaches)
Women – Rodney Guy, Northern Ontario
Men – Tom Clasper, Manitoba

Joan Mead Legacy Awards
(selected by the event officials)
($500 scholarship)
Women – Chloé McCloskey, Prince Edward Island
Men – Alex Cormier, Quebec

Comments are closed.