Curl PEI Provincial Under 16 Ch’ships start Friday in O’Leary


The Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary is the venue for this weekend’s Curl PEI Provincial Under 16 Curling Championships, with boys and girls divisions for curlers under the age of 16, with three boys and four girls teams taking part. The boys teams will play a double round robin, with the top two teams then advancing to the final, while the girls rinks are playing a single round robin, with the 1st and 4th place teams from the round robin advancing to one semi-final, and the 2nd and 3rd place teams playing in the other. The winners of the semis them meet in the final. There will be no tiebreaker games in this event – a points system will be used to break ties.

Points system:

5 points per win

1 point per end won

½ point per blank end

1 point score difference (max of 3 points)

Live results will be available at:

Event website:

Here is the full event draw:

Date Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Feb. 27 2 pm 1 Gallant vs DeWolfe Moerike vs Doyle
6 pm 2 Clyke vs Rogers DeWolfe vs Schut
Feb. 28 10 am 3 Doyle vs Rogers Gallant vs Schut
2 pm 4 Gallant vs DeWolfe Moerike vs Clyke
6 pm 5 Moerike vs Rogers DeWolfe vs Schut Doyle vs Clyke
Mar. 1 10 am 6 SEMI Girls 1st/4th Gallant vs Schut SEMI Girls 2nd/3rd
2 pm 7 Final Girls Final Boys (1st vs 2nd)
Double Round Robin (boys)
Round Robin with two semi finals (girls)
No tie breaker games will be played. A points system will be used.
Boys Girls
Gallant Moerike
DeWolfe Doyle
Schut Clyke

U16 Boys Team Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coach(es) Club
Donald DeWolfe Jacob Wilkins Logan Maker Nick Johnston Lori Robinson Cornwall Curling Club
Alex Gallant Connor Lilly AJ Cahill Luke Arsenault Wendy Gallant, Rod MacDonald Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Mitchell Schut Colin MacKenzie Michael MacEwen Liam Kelly Nancy Yeo Cornwall Curling Club

U16 Girls Team Rosters

Skip 3rd 2nd Lead Coach Club
Sierra Clyke Lauren Ferguson Taya Ray Crossman Olivia Barbour Susan Hubley Crapaud Community Curling Club
Maria Doyle Maddison Moore Gabrielle Gallant Abbie MacDonald Don Vickerson Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Lauren Moerike Lauren Lenentine Tati Kelly Rachel O’Connor Kevin Moerike Charlottetown/ Cornwall
Kristie Rogers Ellie Coulter Emily McQuaid Olivia MacPhail Brenda MacMillan Cornwall Curling Club

Last year’s champions were the Kaleigh Mackay rink from the Crapaud Community Curling Club and the Montague Curling Club, and the Donald DeWolfe foursome from the Cornwall Curling Club. The DeWolfe team is back this year, while the Mackay rink are competing in the Canada Games this week.

Click for previous years

Comments are closed.