Cornwall hosting PEI Under 18 Ch’ships starting Friday morning

The Cornwall Curling Club is hosting the 2016 Curl PEI Provincial Under 18 Curling Championships, with male and female divisions for curlers under the age of 18 years,  taking place Feb. 19-22, with opening draw Friday at 10am. The winning teams will advance to the Atlantic Under 18 Curling Championships, from March 25-27, 2016 at CFB Halifax. Three of the five U18 men’s teams (plus one player on the Alex Gallant rink), and four of the six U18 women’s rinks are from the host club.

Last season’s champs were the Kaleigh Mackay rink from the Crapaud, Montague, and Charlottetown clubs, and the Leslie Noye foursome from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton. Jacob Wilkins and Alex Gallant from the Noye team are back, with Gallant moving up to skip. Mackay is back this year, playing third stone on Cornwall’s Lauren Lenentine rink, while Danielle Collings,  Alyssa Wright, and Kaleigh Peters from last year’s winning rink are back as well, with Collings skipping, and Wright throwing 4th stones. Last year’s runner-up women’s team, skipped by Lenentine, is back, and two members of last year’s runner-up men’s team, skipped by Alex MacFadyen, have teamed up with skip Tyler Smith from Crapaud and Montague’s Ryan Lowery for a combined Crapaud, Montague, and Silver Fox team.

There is no admission to attend the U18, but there will be a donation jar for the Cornwall Junior program, and 50X50 each draw.

Everyone is invited to attend the opening ceremonies at 5:15 pm, Friday, February 19, in advance of the “A” finals, with piper Calum Brydon (Bluefield student), and anthem singer (and recording artist) Julien Kitson. Four-time PEI junior women’s champ Katie Fullerton will be on hand to throw the ceremonial first rock.

Here is the modified triple knockout draw and schedule, qualifying section-winning teams for a two game championship round on Monday. In the event that a men’s or a women’s team wins all three knockout sections, the respective championship round will not be played. A team that wins two sections would play in both games, and win the championship if they took either game, while their opponent would have to win both.

Games will be eight ends, timed, and officiated. Live results will be available at the event website:

Draw and Schedule


Team Rosters

U18 Men’s

Donald DeWolfeAvery WellsNick JohnstonParker MacFadyenLori RobinsonCornwall Curling Club
Alex GallantJacob WilkinsLogan MakerConnor LillyRoger GavinWestern Community Curling Club
Devin SchutOwen CollierTyler GarnhumAlec HuestisDavid ParkerCornwall Curling Club
Mitchell SchutColin MacKenzieMichael MacEwenLiam KellyNancy YeoCornwall Curling Club
Tyler SmithAlex MacFadyenMatthew MacDonaldRyan LoweryKevin SmithCrapaud, Montague, Silver Fox

U18 Women’s

Danielle Collings (3rd)Alyssa Wright (4th)Kaleigh PetersLauren FergusonJamie NewsonCharlottetown, Montague, Crapaud
Alexis BurrisSydney HowattMeghan SherrenMadelyn CantwellA.J.CampbellCornwall Curling Club
Emma CoffinBaily O’GradyKatelyn BurgoyneGillian BarbrickCornwall Curling Club
Maria DoyleMaddison MooreGabrielle GallantAbby MacDonaldDon VickersonSilver Fox Curling & Yacht Club
Lauren LenentineKaleigh MackayBreanne BurgoyneRachel O’ConnorPat QuiltyCornwall Curling Club
Lauren MoerikeKristie RogersAnnika KellyTati KellyAngela HodgsonCornwall Curling Club

Click for 2014/2015 event

Click for previous events

Comments are closed.