Tyler Smith rink wins Under 18 Men’s title

The Curl PEI Provincial Under 18 Curling Championships at the Cornwall Curling Club wrapped up with the men’s final on Monday. The Tyler Smith rink from the Crapaud, Charlottetown, and Montague curling clubs beat the host club’s Donald DeWolfe team by a 9-2 score in the championship game, following a 4th end triple with a stolen deuce in five, and a stolen triple in the sixth to build up a big lead. It was handshake time when DeWolfe picked up only a single in the seventh. Tyler Smith and his rink of Alex MacFadyen, Matthew MacDonald, and Ryan Lowery, with coach Kevin Smith will now join the PEI U18 women’s champs, the Lauren Lenentine rink from Cornwall, at the Atlantic U18 Championships, March 25.27 at CFB Halifax. Lenentine beat the Danielle Collings team from the Charlottetown, Montague, and Crapaud clubs by a 6-2 score in the C final on Sunday, winning all three sections of the modified triple knockout draw, and making a championship round unnecessary. Click for story.

teamsmithu18Photo (L-R): Ryan Lowery, Matthew MacDonald, Tyler Smith. Missing from photo: Alex MacFadyen, coach Kevin Smith

Smith played with only three players throughout the event, as MacFadyen was recovering from an operation. Other members of the runner-up DeWolfe squad are third Avery Wells, second stone Nick Johnston, and lead Parker MacFadyen, with coach Lori Robinson.

dewolfeRunner-up photo (L-R):  Coach Lori Robinson, Parker MacFadyen, Nick Johnston, Avery Wells, Donald DeWolfe

Smith won the A and B sections of the modified triple knockout draw, beating DeWolfe 8-2 in the A, and defending Under 13 champ Mitchell Schut from Cornwall 9-3 in the B.  DeWolfe edged Schut 4-3 in the C semi, and beat Smith 5-2 in the C final on Sunday to advance to the Monday championship match.

During the women’s closing ceremonies on Sunday, the Fair Play sportsmanship awards, as voted on by the  curlers in the event were announced, with skips Emma Coffin and Alex Gallant taking the honours. The coaching award, as voted on by the coaches in the event, went to Don Vickerson.

Five U18 men’s and six U18 women’s teams took part in the championship.

Comments are closed.