“C” Finals set at Seniors: Berry vs Griffin, Campbell vs Gorveatt

The final qualifiers for the championship round at the PEI Credit Unions Provincial Seniors Curling Championships will be determined with the 10 am Sunday draw at the Charlottetown Curling Complex. The Shelley Ebbett rink from the host club, who won the women’s A and B events, did not advance to the C final, so there will be at least one women’s championship game, at 2 pm Sunday. If the Ebbett team wins that game, against the winner of the C qualifier, they will take the championship game. If not, there will be a winner-take-all final between Ebbett and the C event winner, at 10 am Monday.

Shirley Berry

Iva Griffin

The C final will see Cornwall’s Shirley Berry rink take on the Iva Griffin foursome from the Western and Maple Leaf clubs. Berry came on strong in the second half of her C semi-final game this evening against Ebbett, taking a triple in the sixth, and a deuce in the eighth end for a 9-7 win. Griffin built a commanding lead early in her game against Cornwall’s Debbie Rhodenhizer, taking five points in the first end, and stealing singles in the next 2, with a final score of 11-2 in six ends.

Photos (L-R) Phil Gorveatt, Robert Campbell

The A and B winners, Phil Gorveatt and Robert Campbell, respectively, from the host club will face off in the men’s C final, with the winner having the upper hand in the championship round, being able to win it with a victory in either the 2 pm Sunday or the 10 am Monday game, while their opponent would have to win both. Campbell scored five points in the first end of his C semi against Cornwall’s Bill Hope, going on to win 9-2 in five ends, while Gorveatt scored triples in ends 1 and 6 in an 8-3 victory of Blair Jay and his Silver Fox team.

The eventual men’s and women’s winners will advance to the 2017 Everest Canadian Seniors Curling Championships, March 18-26 in Fredericton NB. The competition will be played at two facilities: the Capital Winter Club and Willie O’Ree Place, with the men’s and women’s finals both scheduled for the latter.

Comments are closed.