Team Saskatchewan edges defending champ to win Canadian Firefighters

The 59th Canadian Firefighters Curling Championship wrapped up today in Thunder Bay Ontario, with Team Saskatchewan, skipped by Gregg Tarasoff out of the Saskatoon Fire Department winning the event, edging the defending champion Alberta rink skipped by Aaron Bartling 8-7 in the final. Saskatchewan picked up four in the first end but Alberta fought back, stealing a double in the 9th end to tie the game. Saskatchewan scored a single in the 10th for the win.

L to R: Skip: Gregg Tarasoff, 3rd: Chris Haichert, 2nd: Carmen Koch, Lead: Tyler Harrison, Director: Garnet Zummack

PEI was represented by the Gordon MacFadyen rink out of the Summerside Fire Department, who did not manage t0 pick up a win in the event. Next year’s 60th ch’ship is set for BC, while the 2020 event is planned for PEI.

End by end scoring:


Comments are closed.