Gordon MacFadyen wins Aubrey Neff Sportsmanship award at Canadian Firefighters

The 59th Canadian Firefighters Curling Championship wrapped up on Saturday afternoon, with Team Saskatchewan winning the event. The closing banquet and awards ceremony was held later on Saturday, with Team PEI skip Gordon MacFadyen from the Summerside Fire Department winning the coveted Aubrey Neff award, “recognizing the unique qualities of sportsmanship, diplomacy, and competitive excellence”. The curlers in the event vote to decide the award winner.



Gordon MacFadyen (right)

Past winners have included Peter MacDonald and Bill MacPhee from the Crossroads Fire Department, and Leo Stewart from Summerside. Neff, who passed away in 1997, was a Vancouver firefighter who, in 1958, sent letters to firefighters in every major city in Canada proposing a Canadian firefighters curling championship. 

Comments are closed.