Silver Fox and Ch’town team set to compete in Canadian Mixed, starting Sunday (Curling Canada/Curl PEI)

The Fort Rouge Curling Club in Winnipeg will host the 56th edition of the Canadian Mixed, Nov. 4-10, 2018, and it’ll be the second straight year the national four-player mixed championship has been decided in Manitoba, after Swan River staged the highly successful 2018 Canadian Mixed.

Photo (Back Row L-R):  Andrew MacDougall, coach Jamie Newson, Eric Brodersen
(Front Row L-R): Melissa Morrow, Miranda Ellis

PEI  will be represented by the combined Silver Fox and Charlottetown Curling Club rink of:

Skip: Melissa Morrow (calls the game, throws third stones)
Erik Brodersen (throws fourth stones)
Second: Andrew MacDougall
Lead: Miranda Ellis
Coach: Jamie Newson

Event website:

The winner of the 2019 Canadian Mixed Championship will represent Canada at the 2019 World Mixed Curling Championship (dates, location TBA by the World Curling Federation).

It will be the third time the city of Winnipeg has played host to the Canadian Mixed — in 1974 (won by Saskatchewan’s Rick Folk) and 1981 (won by Northern Ontario’s Rick Lang).

Additionally, the Canadian Mixed visited Morris, Man., in 2011 (won by Prince Edward Island’s Robert Campbell), Brandon in 1989 (also won by Campbell of P.E.I.) and St. Boniface, Man., in 1968 (won by Saskatchewan’s Larry McGrath).

Here is the games schedule: 

Winnipeg has hosted a number of other major curling championships in past, including five Briers, the latest in 2008 when Alberta’s Kevin Martin won the Tim Hortons Brier while undefeated. The city also played host to the 2013 Tim Hortons Roar of the Rings.

“The Fort Rouge Curling Club has an enthusiastic and engaged membership, and we couldn’t have been happier to throw our support behind its bid to host the 2019 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship,” said Craig Baker, Executive-Director of CurlManitoba. “I’m very excited to see what they put together, and I know everybody who makes the trip to Winnipeg in 2019 will be welcomed with open arms.”

Manitoba teams have won eight national mixed titles, beginning with Ernie Boushy’s victory in 1964 at Toronto — the first edition of the Canadian Mixed.

Boushy followed up with another victory in 1966 at Thunder Bay, Ont. Other Manitoba champions include Barry Fry in 1973 at Charlottetown, Harold Tanasichuk in 1977 at Halifax, Jim Dunstone in 1980 at St. John’s, Jeff Stoughton in 1988 at North Bay, Ont., and again in 1991 at Thunder Bay, and Sean Grassie in 2009 at Iqaluit, Nunavut.

“I was delighted to learn that the Fort Rouge Club had bid for the Canadian Mixed Championship and even more delighted to learn that its bid had been approved by our championship host city selection team,” said Resby Coutts, Chair of Curling Canada’s Board of Governors. “It will be a great host committee to work with, and I know the visiting fans, players and media will be treated to a terrific show.”

The Canadian Mixed Championship made its debut in Toronto in 1964 and has been won a leading 11 times by Alberta, including last season’s triumph by Mick Lizmore in Toronto. Saskatchewan is next with 10 titles.

In November 2017, Ontario’s Mike Anderson won the 2018 Canadian Mixed in Swan River, giving Ontario its fourth national four-player mixed gold medal, and went on to win the World Mixed Championship, Oct. 13-20 2018 in Kelowna BC. The 2020 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship will be played Nov. 4-9, 2019, at Foyer des loisirs et de la culture in Saguenay, Que.

CBC Sports will provide live streaming coverage of the 2019 Canadian Mixed Curling Championship, through to the gold-medal game.



Comments are closed.