Top P.E.I. junior curling teams getting set to battle for berth in nationals (Guardian)

CHARLOTTETOWN, P.E.I. — The Pepsi Provincial Junior Men’s and Junior Women’s Curling Championships take place at the Charlottetown Curling Complex, Dec. 27-30, with six junior women’s and four junior men’s teams eyeing a trip to the nationals.

There will be new winning skips this year, as reigning P.E.I. junior women’s champ Lauren Lenentine is now curling on the defending world junior championship Kaitlyn Jones rink out of Halifax, with Breanne Burgoyne and Rachel O’Connor from last year’s team now curling with skip Annika Kelly, while last year’s junior men’s champion skip Alex MacFadyen has moved to second stone, and is on the foursome skipped by three-time P.E.I. junior champ Tyler Smith.

Last year’s junior women’s runner-up team, and 2019 Canada Games girls’ team, skipped by Lauren Ferguson, is back in its entirety, while Mitchell Schut, skip of last year’s runner-up junior men’s squad and the 2019 Canada Games boys’ team, is back as fifth player on his brother Devin Schut’s team.


Lauren Ferguson

All six junior women’s contenders, including the Kelly and Ferguson teams, along with the Sydney Howatt team, with Sierra Clyke calling the game and Howatt throwing skip stones, plus the Clara Jack, Rachel MacLean, and Emily Sanderson rinks are from the Cornwall Curling Club, while the Tyler Smith and Chase MacMillan junior men’s teams are from the Charlottetown Curling Complex, the Braydon Snow team is from the Silver Fox in Summerside, and the Devin Schut rink curls out of Cornwall.

Click for the full story in The Guardian

Comments are closed.