Ferguson and Smith still undefeated, play in B finals at 9 am Sat. vs MacLean and MacMillan at Pepsi Juniors

The “B” finals of the modified triple knockout draw are set for 9 am Saturday at the Pepsi Provincial Junior (U21) Curling Championships at the Charlottetown Curling Club, and the “A” section winners Lauren Ferguson from Cornwall, and Tyler Smith from Charlottetown are still undefeated and will be in that game. If either team wins their second section, they will have a big advantage in their respective Sunday championship round, as they could win the event with a win in either of those two games, while their opponent would have to win both. Should either team win all three sections, their championship round would not be required. 

Team Ferguson during the officials’ briefing 

After winning the A final against Rachel MacLean this morning, Ferguson then beat the Sydney Howatt team 10-3 this evening to go to a 4-0 win-loss record and advance to the junior women’s B final, also against MacLean, at 9 am Saturday.MacLean beat Emily Sanderson 10-4 this evening to advance to the B final. All six junior women’s teams in the event are from the Cornwall Curling Club.

Team Smith sweeping a rock into the house 

Tyler Smith and his team continue to dominate the junior men’s section, having played the other three teams in the event, with all three 10 end games conceded by the seventh end. Smith will be taking on clubmate Chase MacMillan in the junior men’s B final.

Full schedule is on the event web page at: https://peicurling.com/juniors20182019/

The PEI champions will advance to the 2019 New Holland Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, to be played Jan. 19-27 in Prince Albert Saskatchewan, co-hosted by the Art Hauser Centre and the Prince Albert Golf and Curling Club.


Comments are closed.