PEI Scotties Women’s and Tankard Men’s Curling Ch’ships begin Wednesday in Alberton

The Scotties Tournament of Hearts Provincial Women’s Curling Championship, and the PEI Tankard Provincial Men’s Curling Championship get underway on Wednesday January 9 and wrap up on Sunday the 13th at the three-sheet Western Community Curling Club in Alberton, with seven women’s and six men’s teams competing. Defending women’s champion skip Robyn MacPhee is not in this year’s event, but Meaghan Hughes and Michelle McQuaid from her team are on the Suzanne Birt rink, with third Marie Christianson, while Sarah Fullerton is skipping her own foursome. Other women’s entries include teams skipped by Montague’s Tammy Dewar, 2015 Canadian Travelers Curling Club Champion Lisa Jackson, 3-time PEI Junior Champion Veronica Smith, Chloé McCloskey, a former member of Smith’s rink. and Melissa Morrow, a member of the 2015 Canadian Travelers Championship team, who skipped the PEI Travelers runner-up rink last season.

On the men’s side, both 2-time defending Tankard champion Eddie MacKenzie, who has won the event in 5 out of the past 8 years, and last year’s runner-up John Likely, who won the event back in 2002 as skip and 1985 as second, are back, along with reigning PEI Travelers and Mixed champion Jamie Newson, PEI Pepsi Junior champion Tyler Smith, and two rinks from the Silver Fox in Summerside skipped by Darren Higgins and Steve vanOuwerkerk.

The women’s and men’s teams will each play modified triple-knockout draws with the winners of each section dropping down to compete in subsequent sections. The section winners will then advance to a two-game championship round on Sunday January 13, unless a team wins all three section, in which case those games won’t be needed. A team winning two sections will play in both championship games and win the event if they take either game, while their opponent would have to win both games.

The winning women’s team will advance to the national Scotties in Sydney NS:


Operated by Curling Canada
Feb. 16-24, 2019
Centre 200, Sydney, N.S.

Website   •   Tickets

The winning men’s team will advance to the Tim Hortons Brier in Brandon MB:


Operated by Curling Canada
Mar. 2-10, 2019
Westoba Place, Brandon, Man.

Website   •   Tickets

Live results from the PEI events are available at

Click for Live Results


PEI Scotties and Tankard Draw and schedule

(Will not be updated during event – refer to Live Scoring for draw progression)

Date Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3
09 Jan
9 AM 1 2 3 1
2 PM 2 A B 5
6:15 PM Opening Ceremonies and Player Reception
7 PM 3 D 4 C
9 AM 4 G E F
2 PM 5 8 7 6
7 PM 6 9 H I
11 Jan
9 AM 7 10 12 11
2 PM 8 K J L
7 PM 9 14 13 15
12 Jan
9 AM 10 N   M
2 PM 11   17 16
7 PM 12 18 O  
13 Jan
9 AM 13   WA MA
2 PM 14 WB MB  

Qualifier games have yellow game number background.

Note: Four teams have been seeded in both the men’s and women’s draws based on cashspiel earnings, while the other 2 men’s and 3 women’s teams were placed in position based on a draw from a hat.

Men’s Seedings: 1. vanOuwerkerk 2. T.Smith 3. MacKenzie 4. Higgins

Women’s Seedings: 1. Birt 2. V.Smith 3. Fullerton 4. Morrow


Scotties Team Rosters

W – Team Birt
Charlottetown Curling Complex

Athlete Position
Birt, Suzanne Fourth
Christianson, Marie Third
Hughes, Meaghan Second
McQuaid, Michelle Lead
Mitchell O’Shea Coach

W – Team Dewar
Montague Curling Rink

Athlete Position
Dewar, Tammy Fourth
MacLeod-London, Darlene Third
MacDonald, Robyn Second
Greene, Gail Lead

W – Team Fullerton
Ch’town Curling Complex & Silver Fox Curling Club

Athlete Position
Fullerton, Sarah Fourth
Colter, Amanda Third
Casey, Anita Second
Quilty, Aleya Lead
Pat Quilty Coach

W – Team Jackson
Ch’town Curling Complex

Athlete Position
Jackson, Lisa Fourth
Coulson, Carolyn Third
Reid, Jaclyn Second
Murphy, Jodi Lead
MacRae, Heather Alternate

W – Team McCloskey
Ch’town Curling Complex

Athlete Position    
McCloskey, Chloé Fourth    
Rogers, Kristie Third    
Pearson, Cynthia Second    
Ching, Meghan Lead    
Bill Hope Coach    

W – Team Morrow
Silver Fox Curling Club

Athlete Position
Morrow, Melissa Fourth
Birch, Darcee Third
Spencer, Lindsey Second
Ellis, Miranda Lead
Jamie Newson Coach

W – Team V.Smith
Cornwall Curling Club

Athlete Position
Smith, Veronica Fourth
DiCarlo, Jane Third
Smith, Sabrina Second
Jenkins, Whitney Lead
Pat Aylward Coach


Click for previous women’s ch’ship websites and winners

Tankard Team Rosters 

M – Team Higgins
Silver Fox Curling Club

Athlete Position
Higgins, Darren Fourth
Hockin, Tim Third
Spencer, Mike Second
Greenan, Jonathan Lead

M – Team Likely
Ch’town and Western Community Curling Clubs

Athlete Position
Likely, John Fourth
Carmody, Anson Third
Burgess, Steve Second
Doherty, Robbie Lead
Nabuurs, Matthew Alternate

M – Team MacKenzie
Ch’town Curling Complex

Athlete Position
MacKenzie, Eddie Fourth
MacKenzie, Tyler Third
Gallant, Christopher Second
Ledgerwood, Sean Lead
Philip Gorveatt Coach

M – Team Newson
Silver Fox Curling Club

Athlete Position
Newson, Jamie Fourth
Miller, Corey Third
Ramsay, Patrick Second
Arsenault, Adam Lead

M – Team T.Smith
Ch’town Curling Complex

Athlete Position
Smith, Tyler Fourth
Abraham, Ryan Third
MacFadyen, Alex Second
Lowery, Ryan Lead
Kevin Smith Coach

M – Team van Ouwerkerk
Silver Fox Curling Club

Athlete Position
vanOuwerkerk, Steve Fourth
Ramsay, Sam Third
Juurlink, Ian Second
vanOuwerkerk, Nick Lead
Gerry van Ouwerkerk Coach


Comments are closed.