Curler Kathy O’Rourke receives Senate of Canada 150 Medal

Kathy O’Rourke was presented with a Senate of Canada 150 Medal recently. She was nominated on the recommendation of Stan MacPherson, former Partner of MacPherson Roche Smith, along with Amy Duncan, Executive Director of Curl PEI. A well-known known curler from Summerside, Kathy is a six-time provincial curling champion and a former Canadian Mixed Champion. In 2018 she was inducted into the P.E.I Sports Hall of Fame, and was also recognized by Grant Thornton as the Atlantic Community Award recipient for her involvement in the community.

Photo: Kathy O’Rourke (centre) with her husband Mark O’Rourke (left) and her brother Peter MacDonald (right)

Kathy has been active in several non-profit organizations including the Capital Commission of Prince Edward Island, Founders Hall Inc., Holland College Board of Governors, Natural Products Canada, the Blockhouse Lighthouse Preservation Society, the Girl Guides of Prince Edward Island, and the Charlottetown Curling Club.  In 2014 Kathy joined 5 other women to start the Charlottetown Chapter of “100 Women who Care”.  Since its inception the group has raised over $250,000 for local

Photo (L-R): Senator Brian Francis, Kathy O’Rourke, Lieutenant Governor Antoinette Perry

Senator Brian Francis and Lieutenant Governor Antoinette Perry were on hand for the presentation at Government House.

Photo credit: Patricia Bourque

Other medal recipients included Shirley Affleck, Dr. Alaa Abd-El-Aziz, Deana Beaton, Stephen Cousins, Lennie Gallant, Susan Keizer, James MacAulay, Tara MacLean, Julie Pellissier-Lush, and Dr. David Stewart.

Comments are closed.