PEI’s Shaw steals deuce in final end for repeat Jr. Women’s win, Truro’s MacIssac captures Jr. Men’s title at Fox Fall Fling

It came down to an exciting finish for this afternoon’s Junior Women’s final at the 13th annual Fall Fling Junior Cashspiel, sponsored by Quality Inn, at the Silver Fox curling club in Summerside. Katie Shaw and her Cornwall Curling Club team, three members of which were also on last year’s winning rink, were trailing 4-2 after eight ends of play in the ten end final, and scored a deuce in end nine to tie the game coming home without last rock advantage against the Brooke Tracy foursome from the Gladstone Curling Club in Fredericton Junction NB, and then managed to steal a deuce in the 10th end for the 6-4 win.


File photo (L-R): Katie Shaw, Alexis Burris, Meghan Sherren, Lexie Murray
Back row: David Murphy

It wasn’t as close on the Junior Men’s side, with the Calan MacIssac squad from Truro defeating the Rajan Dalrymple team from the Gage club in Oromocto by a 9-2 score, with a stole triple in the seventh bringing the game to an early conclusion.

Katie Shaw stepped up from third stone to skip on her team this year, with Alexis Burris moving up to third, Meghan Sherren joining the rink at second, and Lexie Murray returning at lead, along with coach David Murphy.

The Brooke Tracy rink includes third Kristen Donovan, second Kamdyn Cawdle, lead stone Sierra Tracy, and Coach Jeremy Tracy.

Other members of the Calan MacIssac foursome are third Evan Moorhouse, second stone Owen Fisher, lead Chris McCurdy and coach Craig Burgess.

Completing the Rajan Dalrymple squad are third Logan Pugsley, 2nd Riley Dowden, 1st stone Cameron Sallaj, and coach Brian  Dalrymple.

PEI’s Brayden Snow rink from the Silver Fox and the Charlottetown Curling Club were semi-finalists in the event, losing 9-4 to Dalrymple.  Snow qualified for the money round by beating the Josh Nowlan rink from Curl Moncton, coached by Summerside native Daryell Nowlan, and the Mitchell Schut foursome from Cornwall in a draw to the button tiebreaker, as all three had matching 3-2 win-loss records in their pool after round-robin play. The other Island rink in the event, Team Clara Jack from Cornwall, gained a lot of competitive experience but didn’t manage to record a win.

Direct link to live scoring:!/competitions/6185

Here are the team rosters (skip to lead, coach, club):

Junior Men’s

Mitchell Schut, Chase MacMillan, Cruz Pineau, Liam Kelly, Coach Brenda MacMillan (Cornwall Curling Club)

Aidan Hennigar, Keith Langlois, Craig Weagle, Ryan MacDonald, Coach Karen Langlois (CFB Halifax Curling Club)

Rajan Dalrymple, Logan Pugsley, Riley Dowden, Cameron Sallaj,  Coach Brian  Dalrymple (Gage Curling Club, Oromocto NB)

Calan MacIssac, Evan Moorhouse, Owen Fisher, Chris McCurdy,  Coach: Craig Burgess (Truro Curling Club)

Alex Peasley, Emmanuel Porter, James Larlee, Noah Riggs, Coach John Peters (Gage Curling Club)

Declan Johnston, Sullivan Goodine, Samuel Goodine, Anson Green, Coach Jonathon Goodine (Florenceville Curling Club)

Luke Godin,  Alan Fawcett, Connor Smith, Brian Young Coach Steve Godin (Mayflower Curling Club, Halifax)

Brayden Snow, Jack MacFadyen, Liam Barbrick, Davis Nicholson   (Silver Fox Curling Club Summerside, and Charlottetown Curling Club)

Jamie Stewart, Pierce Davis, Emmett Knee, Timothy Marin, Coach Jeff Stewart (Thistle St.Andrews Curling Club, Saint John)

Liam Marin, Josh Vaughan, Adam Tracy, Dylan MacDonald, Coach Félipe Marin (Thistle St. Andrews Curling Club, Saint John)

Ryan Strang, Zack Boutilier, Kolby Boutilier, TBA, Coach Mike Strang (Lakeshore Curling Club, Lower Sackville NS)

Josh Nowlan, Wil Robertson, Issac Downey, Jacob Nowlan, Coach Daryell Nowlan (Curl Moncton)

Junior Women’s Teams   

Brooke Tracy, Kristen Donovan, Kamdyn Cawdle, Sierra Tracy, Coach Jeremy Tracy (Gladstone Curling Club, Fredericton Junction, NB)

Kate Paterson, Paige Brewer, Lauryn Cawdle,  Abby Barker, Coach Rob Paterson (Thistle St. Andrews Curling Club, Saint John)

Leah Cluff, Emma Archibald, Chloe O’Hara, Lauren Price, Coach Scott Archibald (Woodstock Curling Club, NB)

Katie Shaw, Alexis Burris, Meghan Sherren, Lexie Murray, Coach David Murphy (Cornwall Curling Club)

Clara Jack, Beth Walsh, Grace Bulger, Aurora Ulvstal, Coach Shelley MacFadyen (Cornwall Curling Club)

Sophie Blades, Kate Weissent, Alexis Cluney, Stephanie Atherton, Coach Andrew Atherton (Chester Curling Club)

Kaylee Nodding, Katelyn Nodding, Lydia Locke, Alexis Chaisson, Coach Scott Nodding (Bridgewater Curling Club)

Brianna Batherson, Diana Milburn, Larissa Giles, Ella Wilson, Coach Darren Milburn (Lakeshore Curling Club, Lower Sackville NS)

Marybeth Milburn, Peyton Bowser, Kerkeslin MacDonald, Amelia Richard, Coach Chris MacDonald (Lakeshore Curling Club, Lower Sackville NS)

Allyson MacNutt, Anna Varga, Cerys Fisher, Mary Larade, Coach Jim Burgess (Truro Curling Club) 

Sarah McDonah, Olivia McDonah, Natalie MacKinnon, Annalise MacNutt, Coach D’ Arcy McDonah  (Truro Curling Club)

Emily Neary, Victoria Snow, Charlotte Belbin, Victoria French, Coach Jeannette Hodder (Remax Centre, St. John’s NL)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                

Comments are closed.