Canadian Juniors: PEI Junior Men and Women lose on Wed., while Manitoba women with PEI’s Lenentine remain unbeaten

Draw 14 on Wednesday in Langley BC saw Championship Round action begin at the 2020 New Holland Canadian Junior Championships, where fans at the George Preston Recreation Centre were treated to some of Canada’s best young talent.

In the men’s Championship Round, Saskatchewan’s Rylan Kleiter (6-1; Saskatoon) improved his record with a 7-6 win over Prince Edward Island’s Tyler Smith (5-2; Montague). Manitoba 2’s Jacques Gauthier (6-1; Winnipeg) defeated Newfoundland and Labrador’s Bruce Daniel (5-2; St. John’s) by a score of 10-6.

In the men’s seeding pool, British Columbia 2’s Johnson Tao (3-4; Richmond) was felled by Northern Ontario’s Jacob Horgan (3-4; Sudbury) by a score of 5-2 while Ontario’s Owen Purdy defeated New Brunswick’s Liam Marin (0-7; Saint John) 9-3.

In women’s Championship Pool action, Manitoba’s Mackenzie Zacharias (7-0; Altona), which includes PEI’s Lauren Lenentine at lead stone, remained perfect downing Ontario’s Sierra Sutherland (4-3; Ottawa) 8-3. Nova Scotia’s Taylour Stevens (6-1; Halifax) defeated Abby Marks of Alberta (5-2; Edmonton) by a score of 12-3.

Draw 15

In women’s seeding pool action, Prince Edward Island’s Lauren Ferguson (1-6; Cornwall) was beaten by British Columbia’s Kaila Buchy (4-4; Kimberly) 11-7.

Newfoundland and Labrador’s team Mackenzie Mitchell of the RE/MAX Centre in St. John’s were not successful in their Draw 15 Championship Pool matchup versus New Brunswick’s Melodie Forsythe (4-3; Moncton). They were defeated by a score of 6-5 and now fall to a 4-3 record.

In other women’s Championship Round action, Québec’s Noémie Gauthier (4-3; Kenogami) defeated Saskatchewan’s Ashley Thevenot (4-3; Saskatoon) 9-3.

In other women’s seeding pool action, Nunavut’s Saidie Pinksen (2-6; Iqaluit) defeated Yukon’s Bayly Scoffin (0-7; Whitehorse) 11-6.

In men’s Championship Round play, British Columbia 1’s Hayato Sato (4-3; New Westminster) defeated Nova Scotia’s Graeme Weagle (4-3; Chester) 6-5 while Alberta’s Ryan Jacques (4-3; Edmonton) needed an extra end to defeat Manitoba 1’s Brett Walter (4-3; Winnipeg) 9-8.

In men’s seeding pool play, New Brunswick’s Liam Marin (1-7; Saint John) found the win column defeating the Northwest Territories’ Sawer Kaeser (0-7; Fort Smith) 13-3. British Columbia 2’s Johnson Tao (4-4; Richmond) defeated Quebec’s Greg Cheal (1-6; Lennoxville) 7-4.

Action resumes Thursday at 1 pm AT. Team Zacharias plays at 1 pm vs. Saskatchewan, then at 6 pm vs. Newfoundland. Their morning game will be the feature game on the Curling Canada livestream at Team Ferguson plays the Northwest Territories at 6 pm, and takes on the Yukon Friday at the same time. Team Smith faces Newfoundland and Labrador at 1 and Alberta at 11 pm, and plays BC #1 at 1 pm on Friday.

(Curling Canada)

Comments are closed.