PEI Syngenta U18: Schut and MacLean win “A” Events, advance to 10:30 am Sat. “B” qualifiers vs. Snow and Shaw teams

It was a successful opening day on Friday for the two-time defending boy’s champs the Mitchell Schut rink, and the Rachel MacLean rink, which includes third Lauren Ferguson, who skipped the winning girl’s squad the last two years, at the Syngenta 2020 PEI Under 18 Curling Championships at the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton, with three girl’s and three boy’s teams taking part. Schut and MacLean, both from the Cornwall Curling Club, had byes to the “A” finals, winning 11-2 over the Brayden Snow team from Charlottetown, and 9-2 over the Katie Shaw rink from Cornwall, respectively. The Shaw team includes 3 members of last year’s winning girl’s team.

Winning the “A” event advanced both Shut and MacLean to the 10:30 am Saturday “B” finals, where they again face Snow and Shaw. Snow won their “A” and “B” semi-finals over the Brock Rochford rink from the Silver Fox, by 6-3 and 9-3 scores, while Shaw beat Cornwall clubmate Clara Jack 9-3 and 7-3 in theirs.

Both the boy’s and girl’s championships are playing modified triple knockout draws. The winners from each of the three triple knockout sections of each event will advance to their respective two-game championship round on Sunday at 2:30 and, if necessary, 6:30 pm. With the modified format, section winners drop down to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three sections, they will win the event with the 10:30 am Sunday draw — without a championship round. A double section winner will have a “double life” in the championship round, winning the event if they take either game, while their opponent would have to win both. If a team wins all three sections, they will be declared the champion, and the championship round will not be played.

This year’s winning teams advance to the 2020 Canadian Under-18 Boys and Girls Curling Championships, Operated by Curling Canada, April 20-25, 2020 at the Countryside Arena, Sudbury, Ont.

Live, end by end results from the provincial event are available at

Draw Tree


Boys Girls

Date Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2 Ice 3
Mar. 6
10:30 am 1 1 A  
2:30 pm 2   2 B
6:30 pm 3 C   3
Mar. 7
10:30 am 4 4 D  
2:30 pm 5   5 E
Mar. 8
10:30 am 6   F 6
2:30 pm 7   WA MA
6:30 pm 8 WB MB  


Explanation for MA/WA and MB/WB:
1. One team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. One team wins two qualifiers. They play in both MA/WA and MB/WB (and win the event if they win either game), while the other winner plays in MA/WA (and has to win to advance to MB/WB).

3. If there are three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in MB/WB and the other winners play off in MA/WA If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to MB/WB and the other two teams play off in MA/MB.

*Qualifying games have game number/letter highlighted in yellow on the schedule.

Team Rosters

M=Boy’s teams, W=Girl’s teams
Click team name for players.

Team Coach Affiliation Location
M – Team Rochford Edward White Silver Fox Curling Club Summerside, PE
M – Team Schut Brenda MacMillan Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE
M – Team Snow David MacFadyen Charlottetown Curling Club Charlottetown, PE
W – Team Jack Shelley MacFadyen Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE
W – Team MacLean Pat Quilty Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE
W -Team Shaw David Murphy Cornwall Curling Club Cornwall, PE

Click for previous year’s championship

Comments are closed.