PEI U18 Curling Ch’ships starting at 2 pm in Montague (power is on at the club)

Opening draw goes at  2 pm as the 2021 PEI Under 18 Curling Championships and the provincial curling championship season get underway at the Montague Curling Club (power outages have not affected the club). Last year’s winners were the Brayden Snow and Katie Shaw teams. Snow is back this year. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, spectators are not permitted at the event, but some teams, including the Snow rink (Team Snow Curling) and the Mitchell Schut team (Team Schut) are planning to live-stream their games on their Facebook pages. Live-scoring will be updated after each end of play at!/competitions/6755

Both the boy’s and girl’s championships are modified triple knockout draws, with the winners from each of the three triple knockout sections of each event advancing to their respective two-game championship round on Sunday. With the modified format, section winners drop down to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three sections, they will win the event without a championship round. A double section winner will have a “double life” in the championship round, winning the event if they take either game, while their opponent would have to win both. 

Draw Tree


Boys Girls

Date Time Draw Ice 1  Ice 2 Ice 3 Ice 4
Jan. 8
2 PM 1 1 2 A B
6:30 PM 2   C 3  
Jan. 9
9:30 AM 3 D 5 E 4
2 PM 4 6     F
6:30 PM 5 H G 7 8
Jan. 10
9:30 AM 6   9 I  
2 PM 7   BA GA  
6:30 PM 8   GB BB  


Explanation for Championship Round Games (BA/GA and BB/GB):

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers: they play in both BA/GA and BB/GB (and win the event if they win either game), while the other winner plays in BA/GA (and has to win to advance to BB/GB).

3. If there are three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in BB/GB and the other winners play off in BA/GA If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to BB/GB and the other two teams play off in BA/GA.

*Qualifying games have game number/letter highlighted in yellow on the schedule

Team Rosters

Skip name Lineup
Isaiah Dalton
Skip: Isaiah Dalton
Third: Connor Bruce
Second: Sheamus Herlihy
Lead: Nate MacRae
Coach: A.J. Campbell
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Brock Rochford
Skip: Brock Rochford
Third: Keegan Warnell
Second: Jack Chaisson
Lead: Levi Driscoll
Coach: Shawn Warnell
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club
Mitchell Schut
Skip: Mitchell Schut (throws 3rd)
Third: Chase MacMillan (throws 4th)
Second: Cruz Pineau
Lead: Liam Kelly
Coach: Pat Quilty
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Brayden Snow
Skip: Brayden Snow
Third: Jack MacFadyen
Second: Liam Barbrick
Lead: Davis Nicholson
Coach: David MacFadyen
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Sydney Carver
Skip: Sydney Carver
Third: Katie MacLean
Second: Michaela MacLean
Lead: Georgia Hughes
Coach: Larry Richards
Club: Montague Curling Club
Madalyn Easter
Skip: Madalyn Easter
Third: Reid Hart
Second: Kenna Warnell
Lead: Brooke Lewis
Coach: Shelley MacFadyen
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club
Ella Lenentine
Skip: Ella Lenentine
Third: Erika Pater
Second: Kacey Gauthier
Lead: Mollie Shaw
Alternate: Makiya Noonan
Coach: Pat Quilty
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Rachel MacLean
Skip: Rachel MacLean
Third: Lexie Murray
Second: Izzy Tatlock
Lead: Hayden Ford
Alternate: Avery Nicholson
Coach: David Murphy
Club: Cornwall Curling Club

Click for previous year’s championship

Comments are closed.