Bill Hope wins Men’s Masters title, Sandy Hope forces 1:15 pm (new time) deciding game vs. Berry

A triple in the sixth end and a single steal in the eighth for Bill Hope and his Cornwall Curling Club team on Monday morning at the Montague Curling Club has ended Lou Nowlan’s 10-year winning streak (he’s won 15 times in total) at the PEI Masters Men’s Curling Championship, for curlers age 60 and over. Final score: 8-6, Nowlan had a 6-4 lead after 5 ends. Hope won two modified triple knockout sections at the championship and only needed one win today, while Nowlan, who won the other section, would have needed to win both. 

Winning team (L-R): Bill Hope (skip), Peter Murdoch (3rd), David Murphy (2nd), Dario Zannier (lead), from the Cornwall Curling Club

Finalist Team (L-R): Lou Nowlan (skip), David MacFadyen (3rd), Earle Proude (2nd), Alan Montgomery (lead). Missing: Rod MacDonald (alternate). From the Silver Fox Curling Club

Meanwhile, 5-time defending champion Sandy Hope has forced a deciding game at 1:15 pm (new time) in the Masters Women’s competition, after edging Cornwall clubmate Shirley Berry (who won two of the mod. triple knockout sections), by  6-5 score, with the help of a 4-point fourth end. 

The Bill Hope rink and the winning women’s team,  or the finalist team if  unable to attend, earn the right to compete in the 2021 Canadian Masters Curling Championships, November 17-21, 2021 at the Pembina Curling Club in Winnipeg, Man.

Four men’s and three women’s teams began play Friday in this event.

Live end-by-end results from the PEI Masters are available at

Previous Masters winners:

Comments are closed.