Jay, MacKenzie, Birt, London set to compete in PEI Tankard / Scotties ch’ships starting Friday at O’Leary’s Maple Leaf club

The 2021 PEI Scotties Tournament of Hearts Provincial Women’s Curling Championship and the PEI Tankard Provincial Men’s Curling Championship both take place at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary from January 29-31, with two teams entered in each event.

Suzanne Birt (left) and Darlene London

Entered in the Scotties are the defending champion Suzanne Birt rink, along with their Montague clubmates the Darlene London team.

Eddie MacKenzie (left) and Blair Jay

The Eddie MacKenzie men’s squad from the Crapaud Community Curling Club, who were the finalist team last year, and the Blair Jay foursome from the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside are the men’s Tankard entries.

Last year’s winning Bryan Cochrane men’s team is not entered this year. Team Birt’s alternate Kathy O’Rourke will be filling in for regular third Marie Christianson of Halifax at this event.

Both provincial championships will play best of five draws. In advance of this weekend, Curl PEI has changed back sweeping rules to the standard Curling Canada Rules of Play, which allow for two sweepers on a shot.



Day/Date Time Draw Sheet 1 Sheet 2 Sheet 3 Sheet 4
Jan 29
4 pm 1     1 A
Jan 30
11 am 2     B 2
4 pm 3     3 C
Jan 31
11 am  4     D* 4*
4 pm 5     5* E*

* If Required.

The winning teams will advance to the national Scotties Tournament of Hearts women’s championship in February and the Tim Hortons Brier men’s championship in March, both in Calgary.

Live end-by-end results will be available at PEICurling.com/Scoreboard

Due to COVID restrictions, there will be no spectators allowed in the facility for these events.

Team Birt is planning to live stream their games on their Facebook page.


Team  rosters:


Team Suzanne Birt

Note: Alternate O’Rourke will fill in at third for Christianson at this event.

Skip: Suzanne Birt
Third: Marie Christianson
Second: Meaghan Hughes
Lead: Michelle McQuaid
Alternate: Kathy O’Rourke
Coach: Mitchell O’Shea
Club: Montague Curling Club and Cornwall Curling Club

Team: Darlene London

Skip: Darlene London
Third: Robyn MacDonald
Second: Shelly Rice
Lead: Gail Greene
Club: Montague Curling Club


Team Eddie MacKenzie

Skip: Eddie MacKenzie
Third: Tyler Smith
Second: Sean Ledgerwood
Lead: Ryan Lowery
Club: Crapaud Community Curling Club and Montague Curling Club

Team Blair Jay

Skip: Blair Jay
Third: Chuck Jay
Second: Jon Philip
Lead: Glenn Rogers
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club


Operated by Curling Canada
Feb. 20-28, 2021
Markin MacPhail Centre, Calgary, AB


Operated by Curling Canada
Mar. 6-14, 2021
Markin MacPhail Centre, Calgary, AB

Click for previous PEI Women’s Championship websites and winners

Click for previous PEI Men’s Championship websites and winners

Comments are closed.