PEI Srs: Defending champ Dolan wins 1st Sr. Women’s Qualifier, Gorveatt takes on Likely in Fri. morning Sr. Men’s A Qual.

Some familiar names from PEI Men’s, Women’s and Seniors competition are off to a good start at the PEI Senior Men’s and Women’s Championships, for curlers age 50 and over, at the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside, with the defending champion Kim Dolan rink from the Cornwall Curling Club capturing the first of 3 qualifiers in the 5-team women’s championship round with a 7-4 win over Montague’s June Moyaert squad on Thursday evening. Team Dolan is curling with three players in this event, as Kathy O’Rourke is at the Scotties in Calgary where she is an alternate for Team Birt. Calgary. Dolan is calling the game and throwing final stones, while Julie Scales is vice-skip and throwing the first three rocks, and Susan MacInnis is throwing rocks 4-6. In the “A” semis, Dolan beat clubmate and last year’s finalist team Shirley Berry 11-4 in six ends, while Moyaert, trailing 5-3 after six, stole three consecutive ends including the extra in a 6-5 come-from-behind win over Cornwall’s Sandy Hope.

The 7-team men’s round “A” Qualifier goes at 9:30 Friday morning with two-time defending champ Phil Gorveatt, playing out of Montague, facing veteran John Likely, who is representing Cornwall. Gorveatt downed Freddy Fraser from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton 10-4 in six ends in the “A” semi-finals, following a stolen Gorveatt five-ender in the 5th and a single-steal in the sixth. Likely, playing with well-known Tankard veterans Peter Gallant, Mark O’Rourke and Mark Butler, picked up a pair of lopsided wins on Friday, 11-2 over Team Cannon from the host club and 7-2 over last year’s finalist rink, Mark MacDonald from Cornwall, both in six ends.

Teams in both divisions will play modified triple knockout draws, where the winning team from each section also gets to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three sections, they will win the event without a championship round. If a team wins two sections, they will advance to a championship game against the winner of the other section and will take the championship if they win the game. If the other team wins, there will be a second championship game, with the winner of that game going to the nationals. If there are three separate section winners, the team that played in the most section finals will earn a bye to the second championship game where they will face the winner of a game between the other two finalists.

Live results from the provincial Seniors are available at

No spectators are permitted due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Previous PEI Seniors Championship winners and websites are at:

Draw Charts

(will not be updated during event – refer to live scoring for draw progression)



Explanation for MA/WA and MB/WB:

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers. They play in both MA/WA and MB/WB (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in MA/WB (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in MB/WB and the other winners play off in MA/WB. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to MB/WB and the other two teams play off in MA/WA

*Qualifying games have a yellow border on the schedule

Team Rosters


Senior Men’s Teams Senior Women’s Teams
Team name: Dale Cannon
Skip: Dale Cannon (Throws 2nd)
Third: Glenn Rogers 
Second: Blair Jay (Throws 4th) 
Lead: Alan Montgomery
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club
Team name: Shirley Berry
Skip: Shirley Berry
Third: Karen Currie
Second: Gloria Turner
Lead: Arleen Harris
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Paul Deveau
Skip: Paul Deveau
Third: Ensor McNeill
Second: Robert Gallant
Lead: Shane MacClure
Alternate: Ian MacDonald
Club: Montague Curling Club
Team name: Kim Dolan
Skip: Kim Dolan
Vice-skip: Julie Scales,
throwing rocks 1-3
Second: Susan McInnis,
throwing rocks 4-6
 Kathy O’Rourke
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Freddy Fraser
Skip: Freddy Fraser
Third: Daryl MacDonald
Second: Glen Betts
Lead: Ian MacMillan
Club: Western Community Curling Club
Team name: Wendy Fraser
Skip: Wendy Fraser
Third: Sandra Jones
Second: Sandra Hardy
Lead: Darlene Gallant
Club: Maple Leaf Curling Club
Team name: Philip Gorveatt
Skip: Philip Gorveatt
Third: Kevin Champion
Second: Sean Ledgerwood
Lead: Mike Dillon
Club: Montague Curling Club
Team name: Sandy Hope
Skip: Sandy Hope
Third: Nancy MacFadyen
Second: Karen Hardy
Lead: Glennis Doiron
Coach’s Name: Bill Hope
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Bill Hope
Skip: Bill Hope
Third: Peter Murdoch
Second: David Murphy
Lead: Dario Zannier
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: June Moyaert
Skip: June Moyaert
Third: Bev Harding
Second: Sherren MacKinnon
Lead: Stephanie Perigoe
Club: Montague Curling Club
Team name: John Likely
Skip: John Likely
Third: Peter Gallant
Second: Mark O’Rourke
Lead: Mark Butler
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Mark MacDonald
Skip: Mark MacDonald
Third: Garth Cudmore
Second: Allan Acorn
Lead: Edgar Coffin
Club: Cornwall Curling Club

Comments are closed.